MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

Information for Applicants for Dental Hygienist Examinations

l. Applicants are required to be at least 18 years of age, of good moral
character, a citizen of the United States of America and hold a di-
ploma from a recognized, accredited school of Dental Hygiene in the
United States at the time of the examination. Applicants must pre=
sent the following credentials with application: High school and
college transcripts from each college attended, including transcript
of dental hygiene school record.

2. Applicant must have notarized signatures of two citizens of the State
of which she is a legal resident and of two legal residents of the
State of Mississippi, one of whom must be a member of the American
Dental Association. Signatures must not be those of anyone con-
nected in any way with any institution of learning. ALL APPLICANTS
ARE REQUIRED TO ASK THE DENTISTS WHO SIGN HER APPLICATION TO WRITE
A LETTER OF RECOMMENDATION DIRECTLY TO THE SECRETARY OF THE BOARD.

3. Application must be accompanied by a fee of $50.00 remitted by check
or money order payable to the Board. No fee will be returned after
examination has been entered upon. Applicants who fail the examina-
tions will not be issued a license, but may take the examinations
again at the next regular meeting of the Board, at which time they
will be considered as—-a new applicant., No temporary licenses are
issued nor are any special examinations given.

Lo Certification by the National Board of Dental Examiners is accepted
in lieu of the written examinations. Written examinations are given
in all subjects not passed on the National Board. All applicants
are required to take the examination in Jurisprudence based on Mis-
sissippi Law, which is enclosed with this information sheet.

5. Each dental hygiene student will pay a clinic fee of $5.00 at the
orientation session at 8:00 A.M. on December 10, 1973, in cash or
check, to the University of Tennessee School of Dentistry for ma-
terials needed for the examination, with the exception of handpieces,
straight and prophylaxis, which must be furnished by student, as
well as x-ray film holders.

6. Practical Examination:

A, Each applicant will be required to furnish a patient with
sufficient calcareous deposits necessary to demonstrate
their ability to perform a complete oral prophylaxies.

B. Each applicant will be required to expose, process, and
mount a full mouth set of radiographs, including bite-
wingse.

Ce Prescribe, as needed, specific oral hygiene aids and in-
struct patient in the use of these.

D, Make a brief retrospective determination of patient's
dietary habits and prescribe, as needed, a guide for
proper daily food selection to correct any faulty dietary
habits.

E. Prescribe an optimum flouride program appropriate to this
particular patient.

7. Completed applications, including all credentials must be received
by the Secretary not later than thirty days prior to the examina-
tions.

PLEASE SIGN YOUR APPLICATION




