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MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS
Informatiog for Applicants for Dental Hygiene Examinations

: June 12 and 13, 1974
L.5.U.: Schoo1 of Dentistry, New Orleans, Louwisiana

Applicants are requiﬁed.to be at least 18 years of age, of good morai character, .a

© citizen of the United States of America and hold a diploma from a recognized, ac-

cred1ted school of Dental Hygiene in the United States at the time of the examination.
Applicants must present the followimg credentials with application: High School and
college transcripts from each college attended, including transcript of dental hyg1ene
school record, and a retord of National Board Exam1nat1on grades should be forwarded
directly to this office.

App]1cant must have notar1zed signatures of two citizens of the State of which she
is a legal resident and of two legal residents of the State of Mississippi, one of
whom must be a member of the American Dental Association. Signatures must not be"
those of anyone connected in any way with any institution of learning. ALL APPLI-
CANTS ARE REQUIRED TO ASK THE DENTISTS WHO SIGN HER APPLICATION TO WRITE A LETTER
OF RECOMMENDATION DIRECTLY TO THE SECRETARY OF THE BOARD.

Application must be accompanied by a fee of $50.00 remitted by check or money order
payable to the Board. WNo fee will be returned after examination has been entered
upon. Applicants who fail the examinations will not be issued a license, but may
take the examinations again at the next regular meeting of the Board, at which time
they will he considered as a new applicant. No temporary Tlicenses are issued nor
are any special examinations given,

Certification by the National Board of Dental Examiners is accepted in lieu of the
written examinations. Written examinations are given in all subjects not passed on
the National Board. A1l applicants are required to take the examination in Juris-
prudence based on Mississippi Law, which you have rece1ved This exam will be given

" at 3:00 P.M. Wednesday, June 12, 1974,

Each dental hygiene student will be required to pay a clinic fee of $10.00 at the
orientation session at 2:00 P.M. Wednesday, June 12, 1974, in cash or check payable
to L.5.U. Medical Center. This covers necessary mater1a]s needed for the exam1na-
tion. Low-speed handp1eces will be furnished.

You are required to furnish a patient with sufficient calcareous deposits for you
to demonstrate your ab111ty in this area as a dental hygienist in performing a .
complete oral prophylaxis. In addition, using the same patient, you will be re:
quired to expose, process and amount a full mouth set of radiographs, including’
bite-wings. No re-takes will be allowed.

Each dental hygiene student will be interviewed by members of the Board at same
time during the examination period.

Schedule of Examination:
Place: L.S.U. School of Dentistry, 1100 Florida Avenue, New Orleans, Louisiana

Time: Wednesday, June 12, 1974

2:00 P.M. - Orientation Session
Auditorium C of Clinic Building
3:00 P.M. ~ Jurisprudence Examination and other subJects
not passed on National Board Exam1nat1on, if
any
Thursday, June 13, 1974 :
§:00 A.M.-5:00 P.M. - Clinical Examination and Personal Interviews

Applicants should present themselves we11-grdoméd, properly dressed, and otherwise
prepared for the Examination.

Completed Application, including all credentials, must be received by this office
at least 10 days prior to date of Examination.

The Board of Dental Examiners expects you to perform to the best of your ability
under the circumstances. We wish you well on the Examipation and will be glad to
answer any questfons you may have, prior to the Examination.




