MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

Information for Applicants for Dental Hygiene Examination

January 8-11, 1980

UNIVERSITY OF MISSISSIPPI SCHOOL OF DENTISTRY

MEDICAL CENTER, JACKSON, MISSISSIPPI

\

The examinations for Dental Hygiene Licensure will be held at the University of
Mississippi School of Dentistry, Medical Center, January 8-11, 1980.

Applicants are required to be at least 18 years of age, of good moral character,
a citizen of the United States of America and hold a diploma from a recognized,
accredited school of Dental Hygiene in the United States at the time of the exam-
ination, or of a school of dental hygiene outside the continental limits of the
United States having the same standards and requirements as determined and
approved by the board of dental examiners.

Your grade card from the National Board of Dental Examiners will be required.
All applicants will be required to pass a written examination in jurisprudence,
based on Mississippl Laws Pertaining to Dentistry, a copy enclosed. Also, a
general written examination will be required of all candidates.

Each application must be completed and received by this office at least 10 days
prior to the examination, but it is requested that it be received at least 30 days
prior to the examination, If possible.

The completed application must contain the following:

A. Application form filled out completely and properly signed.

B High School and College Transcripts.
C. Dental Hygiene School Transcript.
D

Check or money order in the amount of $75.00 payable
to the Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners.

E. Notarized signatures of at least two reputable citizens
of the state in which the applicant is a legal resident,
testifying as to good moral character, one of which
must not be connected in any way with an institution
of learning.

F. A letter of recommendation from the dentist signing
the application to be sent directly to the Board.

The examination fee will not be refunded after date of examination. Applicants who
are unsuccessful on the examination may apply again at the next examination and
will be considered as a new applicant. Any applicant who fails the Board exams
twice will not be eligible to take them again until they fulfill any additional require-
ments the Board of Examiners may deem necessary.

A license to practice Dental Hygiene in the State of Mississippi is granted on the basis
of examination only. Reciprocity is not granted Hygienists from any other siate.

Each Dental Hygiene candidate will pay a CLINIC FEE in the amount of $10.00. This
fee is due with the application, and should be made payable to the University of =
Mississippi School of Dentistry. This covers necessary materials, anesthetics, etc.,
needed for the examination, including patient record forms, x-ray filins and prophy
handpieces.




EXAMINATION INSTRUCTIONS FOR APPLICANTS FOR DENTAL HYGIENE LICENSURE

1. Applicants will be expected to present themselves for all phases of the examination
well-groomed, professionally attired, with no identifying name plates or monograms
that denote the name of applicant or school attended.

2. Applicants will have patient seated in the assigned cubicle at the appropriate starting
time for the clinical examination with the following materials available for inspection
by the Examiner before requesting a starting check:

A. A brief, but comprehensive medical and dental history
on the patient to be treated during the examination,
noting any condition that might be pertinent to the
treatment planned during the Board examination.

B. Diagnostic charts, instruments, and other materials
and supplies that will be needed for the examination
procedures.

C. Pre-operative B.W. x-rays taken within the past

10 days, demonstrating demonstrable calculus.

D. Patients also must have clinically demonstrable
calculus on anterjor and posterior teeth.

3. Applicants must receive a starilng check from an Examiner before any procedures are
performed. The starting check shall consist of the following:

A. A brief discussion with the Examiner concerning the patient's
general health and dental condition, and a determination by
the Examiner if the patient selected is acceptable for the
procedures to be demonstrated.

B. Classification of patient by the Examiner and the assignment
of procedures to be completed by the applicant.

C. Patient selection grade, patient classiflcation, and procedure
assignment recorded by Examiner.

NOTE: If it is determined that local anesthesia or other medications are indicated for
the assigned procedure, they may be administered by an Examiner at this time,
or after the full mouth x-rays have been made.

4, When the applicant has received a starting check and an assignment of procedures
to be completed, he/she may proceed with the following, all of which will be examined
and graded by an Examiner. These procedures will not necessarily have to be done
in the order in which they are listed because of the availability of facilities such as
x-ray machines, etc.

A. PREVENTION (Patient Education) - should be done
first for effective staining.

B. FULL MOUTH X-RAYS - except Pre-operative and
Post-operative B.W.'s may be done at any time.
No re-takes will be allowed.

C. CHARTING - (including Periodontal)} - for best results,
should be done after x-rays and polishing.

D. SCALING - may be done any time after prevention.

E. POLISHING - may be done any time after scaling.

F. INTERVIEW - may be done during waiting periods or while

grading any of the above steps.



5. Procedures B, C, D, E and F, listed on Page 2, may be graded at one sitting
at the discretion of the Examiner. More than one Examiner may grade any or all
procedures.

6. GRADING - Grades will be recorded on the following: Written exams, oral exams
{(if given), patient selection, prevention, x-rays, charting, scaling, polishing,
interview and patient management.

A. ZERO GRADES will be recorded for the following:

1. Patient mismanagement or deceit.
2. Presenting patient not meeting requirements.

3. Undue or excessive trguma or lacerations of
the soft tissues.

4. Unprofessional behavior or attitude.
B. OTHER GRADES - A grade of 70 or above will be required to pass

any particular part of the examination and an average grade of 70
or above will be required to pass the Board examination.

7. Each applicant will be expected to finish the assigned procedures during the allotted
time, which will be announced. However, the Board places more emphasis on
accuracy, thoroughness, and concern for your patient than the speed at which you
may "finish" with your patient.

8. The Board of Dental Examiners will make every effort to be fair and provide you an
opportunity to demonstrate your ability as a Dental Hygienist, and we encourage
you to read and follow the instructions carefully to avoid a misunderstanding that might
deprive you of that opportunity.

9. All records must be left with an Examiner upon completion of the examination.

IMPORTANT

CANDIDATES MUST BRING OWN INSTRUMENTS.

School will furnish all expendables.
One locker will be furnished, but candidate must furnish own lock.

The Board will be held at the University of Mississippi School of Dentistry, on the campus
of the Medical Center.

TUESDAY, JANUARY 8, 1980 - 1:00 P.M. - Jurisprudence Written Examination.
Written Examination for all candidates.
Room D-114

WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 9, 1980 - 8:30 A.M.
Orientation - Lecture Room D-114
Clinical Exams - South Clinic, 4th Floor

Patient Waiting Area Room D-414
Laboratory Room D-408
Locker Rooms: Female Candidates Room D-105

Male Candidates Room D-115

MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

WILLIAM P, EDGAR, D.D.S., M.S.
SECRETARY



