MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

Post Office Box 1960, Clinton, MS 39056
Phone: 601-924-9622

Information for Applicants for Dental Hygiene Examination

June 9-12, 1981

UNLVERSITY OF MISSISSIPPI SCHOOL OF DENTISTRY
MEDICAL CENTER, JACKSON, MISSISSIPPI

The examinations for Dental Hygiene Licensure will be held June 9-
12, 1981, at the University of Mississippi School of Dentistry,
University Medical Center, Jackson, Mississippi.

Applicants are required to be at least 18 years of age, of good moral

character, a citizen of the United States of America, and at the time

of the examination hold a diploma from a recognized, accredited School
of Dental Hygiene in the United States.

Your grade card from the National Board of Dental Examiners will be
required. All applicants will be required to pass a written exami-
nation in Jurisprudence based on "The Mississippi Laws Pertaining to
the State Board of Dental Examiners.' (Reprint enclosed) Also, a
general written examination will be required of all candidates.

The completed application and credentials must be received by this
office at least ten (10) days prior to the examination, but, if possible,
it is requested that it be received at least thirty (30) days prior

to the examination.

The completed application must contain the following:

A. TYPED application form filled out completely and properly signed.

B High school and college transcripts.
C. Dental Hygiene School transcript.
D

Check or money order in the amount of $100 made payable to the
Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners.

E. For applicants still in school but expected to graduate prior to
the examination, a letter from the Dean of the Dental Hygiene School
is required stating that applicant is expected to graduate.

F. Notarized signatures of two (2) reputable citizens of the state
in which the applicant is a resident.

G. National Board Grade Card.

H. Check or money order in the amount of $15.00 made payable to the
University of Mississippi School of Dentistry covering clinic fee.

The exawmination fee will not be refunded after date of examination.
Applicants who are unsuccessful on the examination may re-apply for
the nex! examination and be considered as new applicants. Candidates
who fail the Board examinations twice will not be eligible to take
them again until they fulfill any additiomnal requirements the Board
of Examiners may deem necessary. '

The Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners grants regular licenses
to practice Dental Hygiene in the State of Mississippi on the basis

of examination only. The Board does not engage in reciprocity agree-
ments wirfh any other states.
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8. Each Dental Hygiene candidate will pay a CLINIC FEE in the amount of
~ $15.00. This fee is due with the application and should be made payable

to the University of Mississippi School of Dentistry. This fee covers
necessary materials, anesthetics, etc., needed for the examination
including patient record forms and x- ray films. Prophy handpieces
will not be furnished unless arrangements are made prior to the exami-
nation with Mr. Albert Pleasant at the School of Dentistry. Mr.
Pleasant can be reached at 601-987-5980.

EXAMINATION INSTRUCTIONS FOR APPLICANTS FOR DENTAL HYGIENE LICENSURE

1. All applicants are expected to present themselves for all phases of
the examination well-groomed and professionally attired with no identi-
fying name plates or monograms that denote the name of the applicant
or the school attended.

2. Applicants must furnish their own patients and must be responsible for
their appearance on schedule. Applicants who wish to use the University
of Mississippi School of Dentistry's facilities for screening of patients
must first submit their application and fees to the Board office.

NO ONE WILL BE ALLOWED TO SCREEN PATIENTS AT THE SCHOOL UNTII, COMPLETED
APPLICATION AND FEES HAVE BEEN RECEIVED IN THE BOARD OFFICE. Applicants
who have completed application and paid fees may contact Dr. Glen
Robinson, School of Dentistry, 601-987-4864, for appointment for screen-
ing patients.

3. Applicants will have patients seated in the assigned cubicle at the
appropriate starting time for the clinical examination with the following
materials available for inspection by the Examiner before requesting
a starting check:

A. A brief, but comprehensive, medical and dental history on the
patient to be treated during the examination, noting any condition
that might be pertinent to the treatment planned during the Board
examination.

B. Diagnostic charts, instruments, and other materials and supplies
that will be needed for the examination procedures.

C. Pre-operative B.W. x-rays taken within the past ten (10) days
demonstrating demonstrable calculus.

D. Patients also must have clinically demonstrable calculus on anterior
and posterior teeth.

4. Applicants must receive a starting check from an Examiner before any
procedures are performed. The starting check shall consist of the
following: :

A. A brief discussion with the Examiner concerning the patient's
general health and dental condition, and a determination by the
Examiner if the patient selected is acceptable for the procedures
to be demonstrated.

B. Classification of patient by the Examiner and the assignment of
procedures to be completed by the applicant.

C. Patient selection grade, patient classification, and procedure
assignment recorded by Examiner.

NOTE: If it is determined that local anesthesia or other medications
are indicated for the assigned procedure, they may be administered
by an Examiner at this time or after the full mouth x-rays have
been made.

5. When the apalLCdnL has received a starting check and an assignment
of procedures Lo be completed, he/she may proceed with the following,

all of which will be examined and graded by an Examiner. These pro-
cedures will net necessarily have to be done in the order in which
they are li§?éJ hecause of the availability of facilities such as
X-ray machines eto.;
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A. PREVENTION (Patient Education) - should be done first for effective
staining.

B. FULL MOUTH X-RAYS - except pre—opefative and post-operative B.W.'s
may be done at any time. No re-takes will be allowed.

C. CHARTING (including periodontal) - for best results should be
done after x-rays and polishing.

D. SCALING - may be done any time after prevention.
E. POLISHING - may be done any time after scaling.

F. INTERVIEW -~ may be done during waiting periods or while grading
any of the above steps,

NOTE: Procedures B, C, D, E, and F, listed above, may be graded at one
© sitting at the discretion of the Examiner. More than one Examiner
may grade any or all procedures.

6. GRADING - Grades will be recorded on the following: written exams;
oral exams (if given); patient selection; prevention; x-rays; charting;
scaling; polishing; interview; and patient management.

A. ZERO GRADES will be recorded for the following:

(1) Patient misménagement or deceit;
(2) Presenting patient not meeting requirements;
(3) Undue or excessive trauma or lacerations of the soft tissues;
(4) Unprofessional behavior or attitude.
B. OTHER GRADES - A grade of 70 or above will be required to pass

any particular part of the examination, and an average grade or
70 or above will be required to pass the Board for Licensure.

7. Each applicant will be expected to complete the assigned procedures
during the alloted time which will be announced. However, the Board
places more emphasis on accuracy, thoroughness, and concern for your
patient than the speed at which you may ‘"finish" with your patient.

8. The Board of Dental Examiners will make every effort to be fair and
provide you an opportunity to demonstrate your ability as a dental
hygienist, and we encourage you to read and follow the instructions
carefully to avoid a misunderstanding that may deprive you of that
opportunity. ,

9. All records must be left with an Examiner upon completion of the exami- -
nation. ‘

IMPORTANT

CANDIDATES MUST BRING THEIR OWN INSTRUMENTS

School will furnish all expendables.
One locker will be furnished, but candidates must furnish their own locks.

The Board will be held at the University of Mississippi School of Dentistry,
2500 North State Street, Jackson, Mississippi. (On the campus of the
University Medical Center.)



SCHEDULE

TUESDAY 1:00 pm Orientation - Lecture Room D-113

JUNE 9, 1981
Jurisprudence written examination

Written examination for all candidates.
WEDNESDAY 8:00 am Clinical examinations -

JUNE 10, 1981
3rd floor clinies

Patient waiting area 3rd floor
Radiology clinic 2nd floor
Locker rooms: Female candidates Room D-105

Male Candidates Room D-115

MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

William P. Edgar, D.D.S., M.S.
Secretary




