MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

Post Office Box 1960, Clinton, MS 39056
Phone: 601-924-9622

Information for Applicants for Dental Hygiene Examination

June 8-11, 1982

UNIVERSITY OF MISSISSIPPI SCHOOL OF DENTISTRY
MEDICAL CENTER, JACKSON, MISSISSIPPI

The examinations for Dental Hygiene Licensure will be held June 8-
11, 1982, at the University of Mississippi School of Dentistry,
University Medical Center, Jackson, Mississippi.

The Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners grants regular

licenses to practice Dental Hygiene in the State of Mississippi
on the basis of examination only. The Board does not engage in
reciprocity agreements with other states.

Applicants are required to be at least 18 years of age, of good
moral character, citizens of the United States of America, and at
the time of the examination hold a degree from a recognized, accred-
ited School of Dental Hygiene in the United States.

Grade card from the National Board of Dental Examiners is required.
All candidates are required to PASS a written examination in juris-
prudence based on 'The Mississippi Laws Pertaining to the State
Board of Dental Examiners.'" (Reprint enclosed) Candidates who
fail the jurisprudence examination will not be allowed to continue
the Board. A general written examination will also be required

of all candidates.

The completed application and credentials must be received by this
office at least thirty (30) days prior to the examination.

The examination fee will not be refunded after date of examination.
Applicants who are unsuccessful on the examination may re-apply
for the next examination and be considered as new applicants.

Each Dental Hygiene candidate will pay a CLINIC FEE in the amount
of $25,00. This fee is due with the application and should be made
payable to the University of Mississippi School of Dentistry. This
fee covers necessary materials, anesthetics, etc., needed for the
examination including patient record forms and x-ray films. Prophy
handpieces will not be furnished unless arrangements are made prior

to the examination with Mr. Albert Pleasant at the School of Dentistry.

Mr. Pleasant can be reached at 601-987-5980.

The completed application must contain the following:

A. TYPED application form filled out completely and properly signed.

B. High school and college transcripts.

C. Dental Hygiene School transcript.

D. Check or money crder in the amount of $100 made payable to the
Mississippli State Board of Dental Examiners,

E. For applicants still in school but expected to graduate prior

to the examination, a letter from the Dean of the Dental Hygiene

School is required stating that applicant is expected to graduate.

F. Notarized signatures of two (2) reputable citizens of the state
in which the applicant is a resident.

G. National Board Grade Card.
H. Check or money crder in the amount of $25.00 made payable to

the University of Mississippi School of Dentistry covering clinic
fee.



I. Certified statement from the Secretary of the Board of Dental
Examiners in each state in which applicant is currently licensed
verifying license status and good standing. In states where
applicant has previously been licensed, the Secretary of the
Board must notify this office as to the reason for license expira-
tion or revocation.

EXAMINATION INSTRUCTIONS FOR APPLICANTS FOR DENTAL HYGIENE LICENSURE

1. All applicants are expected to present themselves for all phases
of the examination well-groomed and professionally attired with
no identifying name plates or monograms that denote the name of
the applicant or the school attended.

2. Applicants must furnish their own patients and must be responsible
for their appearance on schedule.

3. Applicants will have patients seated in the assigned cubicle at
the appropriate starting time for the clinical examination with
the following materials available for inspection by the Examiner
before requesting a starting check:

A. A brief, but comprehensive, medical and dental history on the
patient to be treated during the examination, noting any condition
that might be pertinent to the treatment planned during the
Board examination. This history must be submitted on the form
provided by the Board.

B. Diagnostic charts, instruments, and other materials and supplies
that will be needed for the examination procedures.

C. Pre-operative B.W. x-rays taken within the past ten (10) days
exhibiting demonstrable calculus.

D. Patients also must have clinically demonstrable calculus on
anterior and posterior teeth.

4., Applicants must receive a starting check from an examiner before
any procedures are performed. The starting check shall consist
of the following:

A. A brief discussion with the examiner concerning the patient's
general health and dental condition, and a determination by
the examiner if the patient selected is acceptable for the pro-
cedures to be demonstrated.

B. Classification of patient by the examiner and the assignment
of procedures to be completed by the applicant.

C. Patient selection grade, patient classification, and procedure
assignment recorded by examiner.

NOTE : If it is determined that local anesthesia or other medications
are indicated for the assigned procedure, they may be administered
by an examiner at this time or after the full mouth x-rays have
been made.

5. When the applicant has received a starting check and an assignment
of procedures to be completed, he/she may proceed with the following,
all of which will be examined and graded by an examiner. These
procedures will not necessarily have to be done in the order in
which they are listed because of the availability of facilities
such as x-ray machines, etc.:

A. PREVENTION (Patient Education) - should be done first for
effective staining.

B. FULL MOUTH X-RAYS - except pre-operative and post-operative
B.W.'s may be done at any time. No re-takes will be allowed.




The x-ray equipment at the dental school is.set for long cone
exposure. The equipment may not be adjusted for another setting.

C. CHARTING (including periodontal) - for best results should be
done after x-rays and polishing.

D. SCALING - may be done any time after prevention.
E. POLISHING - May be done any time after scaling.

F. INTERVIEW - may be done during waiting periods or while grading
any of the above steps.

NOTE : Procedures B, C, D, E, and F, listed above, may be graded at
one sitting at the discretion of the examiner. More than one
examiner may grade any or all procedures.

6. GRADING - Grades will be recorded on the following: National Board
grade; written exams; oral exams (if given); patient selection;
prevention; x-rays; charting; scaling; polishing; interview; and
patient management.

A. ZERO GRADES will be recorded for the following:

(1) Patient mismanagement or deceit;
(2) Presenting patient not meeting requirements;
(3) Undue or excessive trauma or lacerations of the soft tissues;
(4) Unprofessional behavior or attitude.
B. OTHER GRADES - A grade of 70 or above will be required to pass

any particular part of the examination, and an average grade
of 70 or above will be required to pass the Board for Licensure.

7. Each applicant will be expected to complete the assigned procedures
during the alloted time which will be announced. However, the Board
places more emphasis on accuracy, thoroughness, and concern for
your patient than the speed at which you may '"finish" with your
patient.

8. The Board of Dental Examiners will make every effort to be fair
and provide you an opportunity to demonstrate your ability as a
dental hygienist, and we encourage you to read and follow the instruc-
tions carefully to avoid a misunderstanding that may deprive you
of that opportunity.

9. All records must be left with an examiner upon completion of the
examination. Records, x-rays, etc. become the property of the
Board. Under no circumstances will they be released to candidates
or patients.

10. Do not contact the Board office or Board members after the exami-
nation. Notification of pass/fail will be mailed as soon as
possible.

IMPORTANT

CANDIDATES MUST BRING THEIR OWN INSTRUMENTS

School will furnish all expendables.
One locker will be furnished, but candidates must furnish their own locks.
The Board will be held at the University of Mississippi School of Dentistry,

2500 North State Street, Jackson, Mississippi. (On the campus of the
University Medical Center.)



TUESDAY
JUNE 8, 1982

WEDNESDAY
JUNE 9, 1982
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SCHEDULE

1:00 p.m. Orientation - Lecture Room D-113
Jurisprudence written examination
Written examination for all candidates.

8:00 a.m. Clinical examinations -

3rd floor clinics

Patient waiting area 3rd floor
Radiology clinic 2nd floor
Locker rooms: Female Candidates Room D-105

Male Candidates Room D-115

MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

Duduan_ 7. Edl
William P. Edgar, D.D.
Secretary




