MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

Post Office Box 1960, Clinton, MS 39056
Phone: 601-924-9622

Information for Applicants for Dental Licensure Examination

June 8-11, 1982

UNIVERSITY OF MISSISSIPPI SCHOOL OF DENTISTRY
UNIVERSITY MEDICAL CENTER, JACKSON,; MISSISSIPPI

The Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners grants licenses to practice
general dentistry in the State of Mississippi on the basis of examination
only. The Board does not engage in reciprocity agreements with other
states. After a general license has been issued, a Specialty License

may be requested by making application with the Secretary of this Board

and presenting the proper proof of having complied with the requirements
specified by the Council on Dental Education of the American Dental Associ-
ation for the particular specialty.

THE REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE ARE:

1. An applicant for examination for licensure as a dentist shall: (a)
Be a citizen of the United States, except as otherwise provided in
Section 73-9-23 of the Mississippi Laws Pertaining to the State Board
of Dental Examiners (copy enclosed), be of good moral character,
be possessed of a high school education, have attained the age of
twenty-one (21) years; and (b) Exhibit with the application a diploma
or certificate of graduation from a dental school accredited by the
Commission on Accreditation of Dental and Dental Auxiliary Educational
Programs of the American Dental Association, except as otherwise
provided in Section 73-9-23 of the Mississippi Laws Pertaining to
the State Board of Dental Examiners.

2. Application must be filled out completely (TYPEWRITTEN), signed,
and accompanied by a fee of $150.00 remitted by check or money order
made payable to the Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners.
No fee will be refunded after the date of examination. Applicants
who are unsuccessful on the examination may re-apply for the next
examination and be considered as new applicants. No temporary licenses
or permits are issued nor any special examination given.

3. At the discretion of the Board, certification by the National Board
of Dental Examiners is accepted in lieu of the written examination.
This practice may or may not be continued for future examinations.
A copy of the National Board Examination Grade Card should be forwarded
directly to this office. Written examinations will be given to those
candidates who have not passed the National Board Examinations.

4. All applicants will be required to PASS a written examination in
jurisprudence based on '"The Mississippi Laws Pertaining to the State
Board of Dental Examiners.' (Re-print enclosed)

5. All applicants will be required to take a practical examination in

dental anatomy which will consist of identification of fifty (50)
extracted teeth.

6. All applicants will be required to take an oral diagnosis examination
which will consist of identifying structures and lesions on radio-
graphs and slides. ‘

7. Each dental candidate will pay a CLINIC FEE in the amount of $50.00.
This fee is due with the application and should be made payable to
the University of Mississippi School of Dentistry. This fee covers
necessary materials, anesthetics, etc., needed for the examination.

8. The completed application with the following credentials must be
received by this office at least thirty (30) days prior to the
examination.




High school, college, and dental school transcripts.
National Board Grade Card.

Notarized signatures of two (2) reputable citizens of the state
in which the applicant is a resident.

Board fee in the amount of $150.00. (See #2 above)
Clinic fee in the amount of $50.00. (See #7 above)

For those candidates who are still in dental school but expect
to graduate prior to the examination, a letter from the dental
dean stating that the applicant is expected to graduate.

Certified statement from the Secretary of the Board of Dental
Examiners in each state in which applicant is currently licensed
verifying license status and good standing. In states where
applicant has previously been licensed, the Secretary of the

Board must notify this office as to the reason for license expira-
tion or revocation.

Proof of having liability insurance coverage during the State
Board Examination. (For your convenience, an insurance appli-
cation is enclosed should you desire to use this company.)

Proof of having completed the Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation

Course. (This CPR course is renewable annually and must be
current at the time of the examination.)

REQUIREMENTS FOR THE EXAMINATION ARE:

Proof of having liability insurance coverage. (See #H above)
Proof of having completed the CPR course. (See #I above)

One M.0.D. three-surface cast gold inlay or onlay on a molar
or bicuspid. There must be opposing teeth in normal occlusion
and mesial and distal adjacent teeth with contact to protect
and restore. Restoration must be seated and final checked by
5:00 p.m. on the day starting check is given.

One cast gold full crown or 3/4 crown on a molar or bicuspid.
There must be opposing teeth in normal occlusion with at least
one adjacent tooth in contact to protect and restore. Restora-
tion must be seated and final checked by 5:00 p.m. on the day
starting check is given.

Two amalgam restorations. One must be an M.0.D.; the other may
be an M.0., D.0., or M.0.D. These restorations may be on either
a molar or bicuspid. There must be opposing teeth in normal
occlusion with mesial and distal adjacent teeth in contact to
protect and restore.

One Class III Composite. Tooth to be restored must have virgin
Class III carious lesion.

Each candidate must bring a totally edentulous patient. An upper
and lower final or master impression will be taken and stone
models made. You will then construct wax bite rims, establish
vertical dimension and centric relation. Previously prepared
primary impressions or custom trays may be used upon request

at the time of a starting check.

Be prepared to discuss a Diagnosis and Treatment Plan for any
of your restorative patients.
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It is required that teeth to be restored with amalgam resto-
rations, composite restorations, and gold inlay restorations
must have wvirgin carious lesions. NO TOOTH WILL BE ACCEPTED
FOR AMALGAM OR INLAY THAT HAS A PRIOR RESTORATION. (See

Page 6 for x-ray examples of acceptable and unacceptable
lesions.)

For the purpose of this examination, it will be required

that all caries, old bases, and old fillings be removed

from crown preparations. No starting check will be given

for a crown on a tooth that has recently been restored or
built up to be later crowned, or for a tooth that has had
endodontic treatment. Also, for the purpose of this exami-
nation, the margins of all crowns must be placed subgingivally.

All teeth to be prepared must have a recent periapical and
bitewing x-ray to be presented to an examiner at the time
of a starting check.

All teeth will be numbered 1 through 32 starting with the
upper right third molar and ending with the lower right
third molar.

Each candidate will be assigned a number, and this number
must be displayed on his/her operatory cubicle and worn

on his/her right lapel. No name plates or monograms dencting
the name of the applicant or the school attended may be

WOTn. -

All candidates will be required to do their own lab work.
However, a technician will operate the thermotrol casting
machine. Candidates will do their own wax patterns, investing,
and clean up.

Auxiliaries provided by the dental school may be used only
to assist in impression-taking and cementation. Candidates
may assist one another for these procedures. Candidates
may not bring an assistant to the clinic.

Three alginate impressions and models will be required for
each procedure: (a) impression of tooth to be restored
after starting check and prior to instrumentation; (b) im-
pression of completed preparation prior to base or build
up (if needed); (c¢) impression of finished restoration.
These models will be retained by the Board as a part of
your records.

A bitewing x-ray of each finished preparation and each finished
restoration must be presented to an examiner when being
checked. X-ray of the preparation must be made before any

base or build up is placed. These x-rays will be retained

by the Board as a part of your records.

Prior to requesting grading of preparations and finished
restorations, candidates must have the appropriate impressions
and x-rays available for inspection by the Examiner.

Candidates will be penalized in their operative grade if
they are guilty of any of the following poor techniques:

(a) Unwarranted pulp exposure or mismanagement;
(b} Adjacent tooth mutilation;

(¢) Remaining caries;

(d) Casting not seated;

(e) Poor anatomﬁ and improper contour of casting;

(f) Overhanging margin;




NOTE :

(g) Shy or open margins;

(h) Open contact;

(i) Over-prepared;

(j) Under-prepared;

(k) Inadequate retention;

(1) Hyperocclusion/Hypoocclusion;

(m) Mutilation of soft tissue.
APPLICANTS MUST FURNISH THEIR OWN PATIENTS AND MUST BE RESPONSIBLE
FOR THEIR APPEARANCE ON SCHEDULE. All patient records, x-rays,

models, etc. become the property of the Board and will not be
released to candidates or patients under any circumstances.

THE SCHEDULE FOR THE EXAMINATION IS AS FOLLOWS:

TUESDAY, JUNE 8, 1982

1:00 p.m. Orientation session.
Jurisprudence written examination.
Oral Diagnosis examination and Dental
Anatomy practical examination.

Room D-114

WEDNESDAY, JUNE 9, 1982

8:00 a.m. -~ 5:00 p.m. Restorative clinics

4th floor clinics

THURSDAY, JUNE 10, 1982

8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Clinics open

FRIDAY, JUNE 11, 1982

NOTE:

10.

8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Clinics open
THE EXAMINATION TERMINATES AT 5:00 P.M.

OTHER PERTINENT INFORMATION WILL BE GIVEN TO YOU DURING THE
ORIENTATION SESSION.

Candidates must bring their own instruments, handpieces, and local
anesthetic syringe.

Air Handpiece tubing has 4-hole MIDWEST type adapter.

School will furnish all expendibles; however, it may be to your
advantage to furnish your own impression material so that you will
be using one to which you are accustomed. Hydrocolloid will be
available, but candidates must furnish their own trays.

Candidates must bring their own casting gold.

One locker will be furnished, but candidates must furnish their
own locks.

Board examinations will be held at the University of Mississippi
School of Dentistry on the campus of the University Medical Center.
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11. Applicants should present themselves well-groomed and properly
attired for the examination.

12. The Board of Dental Examiners expects you to perform to the best
of your ability under the circumstances. We wish you well on the
examination and will be glad to answer any questions you might
have prior to the examination.

SCHEDULE
TUESDAY, JUNE 8, 1982 1:00 p.m. - Room D-114
WEDNESDAY, JUNE 9, 1982 8:00 a.m. - Restorative Clinics
4th floor
THURSDAY, JUNE 10, 1982 8:00 a.m. - Restorative Clinics
‘ 4th floor
FRIDAY, JUNE 11, 1982 8:00 a.m. - Restorative Clinics
4th floor
PATTIENT WAITING AREA: 4th floor
LABORATORY : Room D-408

LOCKER ROOMS: FEMALE CANDIDATES Room D-105

MALE CANDIDATES Room D-115

MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS
William P. Edgar, D.D.
Secretary







