MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

Information For Applicants For Dental Hygiene Examination

June 3 - 6, 1980

UNIVERSITY OF MISSISSIPPI SCHOOL OF DENTISTRY

MEDICAL CENTER, JACKSON, MISSISSIPPI

The examinations for Dental Hygiene Licensure will be held June 3-6,
1980, at the University of Mississippi School of Dentistry, Medical
Center.

Applicants are required to be at least 18 years of age, of good moral
character, a citizen of the United States of America, and, at the time
of the examination, hold a diploma from a recognized, accredited School
of Dental Hygiene in the United States.

Your Grade Card from the National Board of Dental Examiners will be
required. All applicants will be required to pass a written exam-
ination in Jurisprudence based on '"The Mississippi Laws Pertaining
to the State Board of Dental Examiners'". (Re-print enclosed) Also,
a general written examination will be required of all candidates.

The completed application and credentials must be received by this
office at least 10 days prior to the examination, but, if possible,
it is requested that it be received at least 30 days prior to the
examination.

The completed application must contain the following:

A. Application form filled out completely and properly signed.

B High School and College Transcripts.
C. Dental Hygiene School Transcript.
D

Check or money order in the amount of $100.00 made payable to the
Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners.

E. Letter from Dean of Dental Hygiene School (for applicants still in
school but expected to graduate prior to examination) stating that
you are expected to graduate.

F. Notarized signatures of two (2) reputable citizens of the state
in which applicant is a resident,

The examination fee will not be refunded after date of examination.
Applicants who are unsuccessful on the examination may reapply for
the next examination and be considered as new applicants. Candidates
who fail the Board examinations twice will not be eligible to take
them again until they fulfill any additional requirements the Board
of Examiners may deem necessary.

The Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners grants regular licenses
to practice Dental Hygiene in the State of Mississippi on the basis of

examination only. The Board does not engage in reciprocity agreements

with any other states.

Each Dental Hygiene candidate will pay a CLINIC FEE in the amount of
$15.00. This fee is due with the application and should be made payable
to the University of Mississippi School of Dentistry. This fee covers
necessary materials, anesthetics, etc., needed for the examination
including patient record forms and x-ray films. Prophy handpieces will
not be furnished unless arrangements are made prior to the examination
with Mr. Albert Pleasant at the School of Dentistry. Mr. Pleasant can
be reached at 987-5975.




EXAMINATION INSTRUCTIONS FOR APPLICANTS FOR DENTAL HYGIENE LICENSURE

1. All applicants are expected to present themselves for all phases of the
examination well-groomed and professionally attired, with no identifying
name plates or monograms that denote the name of the applicant or the
school attended.

2. Applicants will have patients seated in the assigned cubicle at the
appropriate starting time for the clinical examination with the following
materials available for inspection by the Examiner before requesting
a starting check: '

A. A brief, but comprehensive medical and dental history on the
patient to be treated during the examination, noting any
condition that might be pertinent to the treatment planned
during the Board examinationm.

B. Diagnostic charts, instruments, and other materials and supplies
that will be needed for the examination procedures.

C. Pre-operative B.W. x-rays taken within the past 10 days
demonstrating demonstrable calculus.

D. Patients also must have clinically demonstrable calculus on
anterior and posterior teeth,

3. Applicants must receive a starting check from an Examiner before any
procedures are performed. The starting check shall consist of the
following:

A. A brief discussion with the Examiner concerning the patient's
general health and dental condition, and a determination by
the Examiner if the patient selected is acceptable for the
procedures to be demonstrated.

B. Classification of patient by the Examiner and the assignment
of procedures to be completed by the applicant.

C. Patient selection grade, patient classification, and procedure
assignment recorded by Examiner.

NOTE: If it is determined that local anesthesia or other medications are
indicated for the assigned procedure, they may be administered by

an Examiner at this time, or after the full mouth x-rays have been
made.

4. When the applicant has received a starting check and an assignment of
procedures to be completed, he/she may proceed with the following,
all of which will be examined and graded by an Examiner. These
procedures will not necessarily have to be done in the order in which
they are listed because of the availability of facilities such as
x-ray machines, etc.

A. PREVENTION (Patient Education) - should be done first for
effective staining

B. FULL MOUTH X-RAYS - except pre-operative and post-operative
B.W. s may be done at any time. No re-takes will be allowed.

C. CHARTING - (including Periodontal) - for best results should
be done after x-rays and polishing

D. SCALING - may be done any time after prevention
E. POLISHING - may be done any time after scaling.

F. INTERVIEW - may be done during waiting periods or while
grading any of the above steps.

NOTE: APPLICANTS MUST FURNISH THEIR OWN PATIENTS AND MUST BE RESPONSIBLE
FOR THEIR APPEARANCE ON SCHEDULE,
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Procedures B, C, D, E, and F, listed on Page 2, may be graded at one
sitting at the discretion of the Examiner. More than one Examiner
may grade any or all procedures.

GRADING -~ Grades will be recorded on the following; written exams,
oral exams (if given), patient selection, prevention, x-rays, charting,
scaling, polishing, interview, and patient management.

A. ZERO GRADES will be recorded for the following:

(1) Patient mismanagement or deceit;
(2) Presenting patient not meeting requirements;

(3) Undue or excessive trauma or lacerations of the
soft tissues;

(4) Unprofessional behavior or attitude.
B. OTHER GRADES - A grade of 70 or above will be required to pass

any particular part of the examination, and an average grade of
70 or above will be required to pass the Board examination.

Each applicant will be expected to finish the assigned procedures
during the alloted time which will be announced. However, the Board
places more emphasis on accuracy, thoroughness, and concern for your
patient than the speed at which you may "finish' with your patient.

The Board of Dental Examiners will make every effort to be fair and
provide you an opportunity to demonstrate your ability as a Dental
Hygienist, and we encourage you to read and follow the instructions
carefully to avoid a misunderstanding that may deprive you of that
opportunity.

All records must be left with an Examiner upon completion of the
examination.

IMPORTANT

CANDIDATES MUST BRING THEIR OWN INSTRUMENTS

School will furnish all expendables.

One locker will be furnished, but candidates must furnish their own
locks.

The Board will be held at the University of Mississippi School of
Dentistry on the campus of the Medical Center.

SCHEDULE

TUESDAY, JUNE 3, 1980 1:00 pm Orientation - Lecture Room D-113
Jurisprudence written examination.
Written Examination for all
candidates.

WEDNESDAY, June 4, 1980 8:00 am Clinical Examinations
3rd floor clinics

Patient Waiting Area 3rd floor

Radiology clinic 2nd floor

Locker Rooms: Female Candidates Room D-105
Male Candidates Room D-115

MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

WILLIAM P. EDGAR, D.D.S., M.S.
SECRETARY
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