MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

Post Office Box 1960, Clinton, MS 39056
Phone: 601-924-9622

Information for Applicants for Dental Licensure Examination

June 9-12, 1981

UNIVERSITY OF MISSISSIPPI SCHOOL OF DENTISTRY
UNIVERSITY MEDICAL CENTER, JACKSON, MISSISSIPPI

The Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners grants regular licenses

to practice dentistry in the State of Mississippi on the basis of exami-
nation only. The Board does not engage in reciprocity agreements with
any other states. After a regular license has been issued, a Specialty
License may be requested by making application with the Secretary of this
Board and presenting the proper proof of having complied with the require-
ments specified by the Council on Dental Education of the American Dental
Association for the particular specialty.

THE REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE ARE:

1. Applicants are required to be at least 21 years of age, of good moral
character, a citizen of the United States of America, and, at the
time of the examination, hold a diploma from an accredited school
of dentistry in the United States.

2. Application must be filled out completely (TYPEWRITTEN), signed, and
accompanied by a fee of $150.00 remitted by check or money order made
payable to the Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners. No fee
will be refunded after the date of examination. Applicants who are
unsuccessful on the examination may re-apply for the next examination
and be considered as new applicants. Candidates who fail the Board
examinations twice will not be eligible to take them again until they
fulfill any additional requirements the Board of Examiners may deem
necessary. No temporary licenses or permits are issued nor any special
examination given.

3. At the discretion of the Board, certification by the National Board
of Dental Examiners is accepted in lieu of the written examination.
This practice may or may not be continued for future examinations.
A copy of the National Board Examination Grade Card should be forwarded
directly to this office. Written examinations will be given to those
candidates who have not passed the National Board Examinations.

4. All applicants will be required to PASS a written examination in juris-
prudence based on "The Mississippi Laws Pertaining to the State Board
of Dental Examiners.'" (Re-print enclosed)

5. All applicants will be required to take a practical examination in
dental anatomy which will consist of identification of fifty (50)
extracted teeth.

6. All applicants will be reguired to take an oral diagnosis examination
which will consist of identifying structures and lesions on radiographs
and slides.

7. Each dental candidate will pay a CLINIC FEE in the amount of $35.00.
This fee is due with the application and should be made payable to
the University of Mississippi School of Dentistry. This fee covers
necessary materials, anesthetics, etc., needed for the examination.

8. The completed application with the following credentials must be received

by this office at least ten (10) days prior to the examination, but,
if possible, it is requested that it be received at lezsst thirty (30)
dayvs prior to the examination.




High school, cecllege, and dental school transcripts.
National Board Grade Card.

Netarized signatures of two (2) reputable citizens of the state
in which the applicant is a resident.

Board fee in the amount of $150.00. (See #2 above)
Clinic fee in the amount of $35.00. (See #7 above)

For those candidates still in dental school but expected to graduate
prior to the examination, a letter from the.dental dean stating
that the applicant is expected to graduate.

Certified statement from the Secretary of the Board of Dental
Examiners in each state in which applicant is currently licensed
verifying license status and good standing. In states where appli-
cant has previously been licensed, the Secretary of the Beocard must
notify this office as to the reason for license expiration or
revocation.

Proof of having liability insurance for the State Board Examination.
(For your convenience, an insurance application is enclosed should
you desire to use this company.)

Proof of having completed the Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation Course
as given by the American Heart Association. (This CPR course is
renewable annually and must be current at the time of the examination.)

REQUIREMENTS FOR THE EXAMINATION ARE:

Proof of having liability insurance. (See #H above)
Proof of having completed the CPR course. (See #I above)

(1) It is required that teeth to be restored with amalgam restor-
ations, composite restorations, and gold.inlay/onlay restorations
must have virgin carious lesions. NO TOOTE WILL BE ACCEPTED
THAT HAS A PRIOR RESTORATION. (See Page 6 for x-ray examples
of acceptable and unacceptable lesions.)

(2) For the purpose of this examination, it will be required that
all caries, old bases, and old fillings be removed from crown
preparations. No starting check will be given for a crown
on a tooth that has recently been restored or built up to be
later crowned, or for a tooth that has had endodontic treatment.
Also, for the purpose of this examination, the margins of all
crowns must be placed subgingivally.

(3) All teeth to be prepared must have a recent periapical and
bitewing x-ray to be presented to an examiner at the time of
a starting check,

(4) All teeth will be numbered 1 through 32 starting with the upper
right third molar and ending with the lower right third molar.

(5) Each candidate will be assigned a number, and this number must
be displayed on his/her operatory cubicle and worn on his/her
right lapel. No name plates or monograms denoting the name
of the applicant or the school attended may be worn.

(6) All candidates will be required to do their own lab work.
However, a technician will operate the thermotrol casting
machine. Candidates will do their own wax patterns, investing,
and clean up.




(7) Auxiliaries may be used only to assist in impression-taking
and cementation. Candidates may assist one another for these
procedures.

(8) Three alginate impressions and models will be required for
each procedure: (a) impression of tooth to be restored after
starting check and prior to instrumentation; (b) impression
of completed preparation prior to base or build up (if needed);
(¢) impression of finished restoration. These models will
be retained by the Board as a part of your records.

(9) A bitewing x-ray of each finished preparation and each finished
restoration must be presented to an examiner when being checked.
X-ray of the preparation must be made before any base or build
up is placed. These x-rays will be retained by the Board as
a part of your records.

(10) Prior to requesting grading of preparations and finished restor-
ations, candidates must have the appropriate impressions and
X-rays available for inspection by the Examiner.

(11) Candidates will be penalized in their operative grade if they
are guilty of any of the following poor techniques:

(a) Unwarranted pulp exposure or mismanagement;

(b) Adjacent tooth mutilation;

(¢) Remaining caries;

(d) Casting not seated;

(e) Poor anatomy and improper contour of casting;

(f) Overhanging margin;

(g) Shy or open margins;

(h) Open contact;

(1) Over-prepared;

(j) Under-prepared;

(k) TInadequate retention;

(1) Hyperccclusion/Hypooceclusion;

(m) Mutilation of soft tissue.
One M.0.D. three-surface cast gold inlay or onlay on a molar or
bicuspid. There must be opposing teeth in normal occlusion and
mesial and distal adjacent teeth with contact to protect and restore.
Restoration must be seated and final checked by 5:00 pm on the day
starting check is given.
One cast gold full crown or 3/4 crown on a molar or bicuspid. There
must be opposing teeth in normal occlusion with at least one adjacent
tooth in contact to protect and restore. Restoration must be seated
and final checked by 5:00 pm on the day starting check is given.
Two amalgam restorations. One must be an M.0.D.; the other may
be an M.0., D.0., or M.0.D. These restorations may be on either
a molar or bicuspid. There must be opposing teeth in normal ccclu-
sion with mesial and distal adjacent teeth in contact to protect

and restore.

One Class III Composite. Tooth to be restored must have virgin
Class III carious lesion.



H. Each candidate must bring a totally edentulous patient. An upper
and lower final or master impression will be taken and stone models
made. You will then construct wax bite rims, establish wvertical
dimension and centric relation. Previously prepared primary impres-
sions or custom trays may be used upon request at the time of a
starting check.

I. Be prepared to discuss a Diagnosis and Treatment Plan for any of
your restorative patients.

NOTE : APPLICANTS MUST FURNISH THEIR OWN PATIENTS AND MUST BE RESPONSIBLE
FOR THEIR APPEARANCE ON SCHEDULE.

Applicants who wish to use the University of Mississippi School

of Dentistry's facilities for screening of patients must first
submit their application and fees to the Board office. NO ONE WILL
BE ALLOWED TO SCREEN PATIENTS AT THE SCHOOL UNTIL COMPLETED APPLI-
CATION AND FEES HAVE BEEN RECEIVED BY THE BOARD OFFICE.

Applicants who have completed application and paid fees may contact

Dr. Glen Robinson, School of Dentistry, 601-987-4864, for appoint-
ment for screening patients.

THE SCHEDULE FOR THE EXAMINATION IS AS FOLLOWS:

TUESDAY, JUNE 9, 1981

1:00 pm : Orientation session.

Jurisprudence written examination.
Oral Diagnosis examination and Dental
Anatomy practical examination.

Written examination for all candidates
not having passed the National Board

Examinations.
Room D-114
WEDNESDAY, JUNE 10, 1981
8:00 am - 5:00 pm Restorative clinics

4th floor clinics

THURSDAY, JUNE 11, 1981

8:00 am - 5:00 pm Clinics open
FRIDAY, JUNE 12, 1981

8:00 am - 5:00 pm Clinics open

THE EXAMINATION TERMINATES AT 5:00 pm

NOTE: OTHER PERTINENT INFORMATION WILL BE GIVEN TO YOU DURING THE
ORIENTATION SESSION.

11. Candidates must bring their own instruments, handpieces, and local anes-
thetic syringe.

Air Handpiece tubing has 4-hole MIDWEST type adapter.

School will furnish all expendibles; however, it may be to your advantage
to furnish your own impression material so that you will be using one



12.

13.

" to which you are accustomed. Hydrocolloid will be available, but

candidates must furnish their own trays.
Candidates must bring their own casting gold.

One locker will be furnished, but candldates must furnish their own
locks.

Board examinations will be held at the University of Mississippi School
of Dentistry on the campus of the University Medical Center.

Applicants should present themselves well-groomed and properly attired
for the examination.

The Board of Dental Examiners expects you to perform to the best of
your ability under the circumstances. We wish you well on the examina-
tion and will be glad to answer any questions you might have prior to
the examination,

SCHEDULE

TUESDAY, JUNE 9, 1981 1:00 pm - Room D-114

WEDNESDAY, JUNE 10, 1981 8:00 am - Restorative Clinics
4th floor

THURSDAY, JUNE 11, 1981 8:00 am - Restorative Clinics
Lth floor

FRIDAY, JUNE 12, 1981 8:00 am - Restorative Clinics
4th floor

PATIENT WAITING AREA: 4th floor

LABORATORY : Room D-408

LOCKER ROOMS: FEMALE CANDIDATES ‘Room D-105

MALE CANDIDATES Room D-115

MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

W?%W

William P. Edgar, D.D.S.
Secretary




TOP ACCEPTABLE TOP UNACCEPTABLE




