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TMPORTANT INFORMATION FOR APPLICANTS FOR DENTAL TLTCENSURE

Please read the following instructions and requirements carefully.
Most of your questions regarding application and examination should
be answered in these instructions. However, if you have further
questions, you may contact the Board office at the above address
and phone number. Please keep these instructions in your

possession during the examination.

The examination will be held May 30 - June 2, 1995, at the
University of Mississippi School of Dentistry located on the campus
of the University Medical Center, 2500 North State Street, Jackson,
Mississippi.

The Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners grants licenses to
practice general dentistry by two methods: (a) examination; and
(b) licensure by credentials, and meeting the criteria thereof.
Mississippi does not engage in reciprocity agreements with other
states, and no temporary licenses or permits are issued or special
examinations given. Those individuals who wish to be licensed in
a specialty field must first obtain a general dental 1license.
Specialty licensure may then be requested by making application and
submitting the proper credentials to the Board.

GENERAL REQUIREMENTS FOR APPLICATION:

An applicant for examination for dental licensure shall: (a) Be a
citizen of the United States except as otherwise provided in
Section 73-9-23, Mississippi Laws pertaining to the State Board of
Dental Examiners (copy enclosed), be of good moral character, be
possessed of a high school education, have attained the age of
twenty-one (21) years; and (b) hold a degree from a dental school
accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Dental and Dental
Auxiliary Education Programs of the American Dental Association
except as otherwise provided in Section 73-9-23, Mississippi Laws
pertaining to the State Board of Dental Examiners.

Application should be made to the Secretary of the Board by
certified mail with return receipt requested. Application, fees,
and all required supporting documentation must be received in the
Board office at least thirty (30) days (4/28/95) prior to the
announced date of the examination.



Board fee and clinic fee must be paid in two separate amounts by

certified check or money order. No personal checks will be
accepted for fees. Examination fee is refunded only if the

candidate’s application is not accepted by the Board. In the event
of illness or emergency, fees will be applied to the next scheduled
Mississippi Board providing the Board office is notified no later
than three (3) days prior to the examination.

Applicants who are unsuccessful on the examination may apply for a
future examination and be considered as new applicants.

Your application will be complete upon receipt of the following:

1. Typed application form filled out completely and properly
signed and notarized.

2. Certified check or money order in the amount of $300.00 made
payable to the Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners.
This amount is your Board application fee.

3. Certified check or money order in the amount of $300.00 made
payable to the University of Mississippi School of Dentistry
to be mailed with your application. This amount covers your
clinic fees for instruments and materials 1listed in the
University of Mississippi School of Dentistry Information for
Board Candidates (blue packet enclosed.) This fee does not
cover casting gold.

4. Notarized signatures of two (2) reputable citizens of the
state in which the applicant is a resident. (See application
form, Item #15, for further information.)

5. Copy of National Board Examination Grade Card. Contact the
Joint Commission on National Dental Examinations, telephone
number 1-800-621-80992, to have a copy of your grade card
mailed to our office. You may take the Mississippi State
Boards without having passed the National Boards, but you will
not be issued a Mississippi license until a copy of your
passing National Board Dental examination scores have been
received by the Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiner’s
office. (For this purpose, passing scores on the Mississippi
State Board Exam are valid through December 31, 1995.)

6. Copies of official transcripts from each college and dental
school attended. These transcripts must be mailed directly to
the Board office by the schools. Transcripts will not be
accepted from the candidate. Final dental school transcript
must show the degree awarded.

7. Candidates who are still in dental school at the time
application is submitted must have Form A (enclosed) - an
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Affidavit signed by dental dean -- completed and returned with
application. Candidates who have not graduated prior to the
examination for licensure will not be allowed to take the
Board.

8. Certified statement from the Secretary of the Board of Dental
Examiners in each state in which applicant is currently
licensed certifying 1license status and good standing. In
states where the applicant has been previously licensed, the
Secretary of the Board must notify this office as to the
reason for license expiration or revocation.

9. Proof of having 1liability insurance coverage while the
clinical examination is 'in progress. (An insurance
application form is enclosed for your convenience. However,
please feel free to use the insurance company of your choice.
If you are currently in practice and have malpractice
insurance, your insurance company must submit a certificate of
insurance stating you are covered for the Mississippi Dental
Board and will be current through June 2, 1995 (Please make
certain the effective dates are listed on the certificate of
insurance.) A photocopy of your office malpractice insurance
policy is NOT acceptable.

10. Proof of having completed the Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation
Course, (adult, one man). This C.P.R. course 1is renewable
annually and must be current at the time of the examination.

11. Registration form for candidate’s chairside assistant. (See
Form attached.) Each candidate is allowed to bring one dental
assistant. This is optional with the candidate. Dental
school graduates may not serve as chairside assistants for
this examination.

APPLICANTS MUST FURNISH THEIR OWN PATIENTS AND ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR
THEIR APPEARANCE ON SCHEDULE. All patient records, x-rays, models,
etc. become the property of the Board and will not be released to
candidates or patients under any circumstances.

PATIENT SELECTION IS ONE OF THE MOST IMPORTANT FACTORS IN
PREPARATION FOR THE EXAMINATION. IT IS ADVISABLE FOR CANDIDATES TO
OBTAIN A BACK-UP PATIENT FOR EACH PROCEDURE. UNACCEPTABLE PATIENTS
WILL BE DISMISSED AND ANOTHER PATIENT MUST BE PROVIDED IF THE
CANDIDATE IS TO CONTINUE THE EXAMINATION.

No name plates or monograms denoting the name of the candidate or
the school attended may be worn. Each applicant will be assigned
a candidate number at the orientation session. This number must be
worn by the candidate on his/her right lapel. The candidate number
will also be displayed on the assigned operatory.



CANDIDATES WILL, BE REQUIRED TO COMPLETE THE FOLLOWING WRITTEN

EXAMINATIONS AND CLINTCAL _PROCEDURES. Jurisprudence and

orientation will be given Tuesday, May 30th, at 1:30 pm. Clinical
procedures will begin at 8:00 am on Wednesday, May 31st.

1.

Jurisprudence written examination. All candidates are
required to PASS a written examination based on "The

Mississippi Laws Pertaining to the State Board of Dental
Examiners" and Requlations of the Board. Candidates who fail
the Jurisprudence examination will not be allowed to continue
the testing.

One M.0.D., D.O., or M.O. Amalgam Restoration. This
restoration must be on a molar or bicuspid with virgin carious
lesions and no prior restorations. There must be opposing
teeth in normal occlusion and an adjacent tooth or teeth in
contact to protect and restore.

The following criteria will be weighed equally in grading the
amalgam preparation: outline form; depth; retention; and
mutilation of adjacent or opposing hard or soft tissues. A
mandatory zero (0) grade will be given on the amalgam
preparation for: remaining caries; gross over-preparation;
pulp exposure; and/or failure to complete procedure on same
day starting check is given.

The following criteria will be weighed equally in grading the
amalgam finished restoration: occlusal anatomy; proximal
anatomy (contour & contact); occlusion (hypo or hyper); and
gingival margin (overhang or sulcus debris). A mandatory zero
(0) grade will be given on the amalgam finished restoration
for: total lack of contact; gross overhang; and/or failure to
complete procedure on same day starting check is given.

The floor examiner must check the amalgam prep for a base
whether or not a base is needed. If a restoration is applied
without a base check, the candidate will be required to remove
the restoration. This restoration must be completed and final
checked by 5:00 pm the same day the starting check is given.

One Complex Amalgam Restoration requiring a minimum of one pin
and restoring at least one cusp. (MODB, MODL, MOB, MOL, DOB
OR DOL). This restoration must be on a molar. There must be
opposing teeth in normal occlusion and an adjacent tooth or
teeth in contact to protect and restore. An endodontically
treated tooth is not acceptable.

The following criteria will be weighed equally in grading the
complex amalgam preparation: outline form; depth; retention;
pin placement; and mutilation of adjacent or opposing hard or
soft tissues. A mandatory zero (0) grade will be glven on the
complex amalgam preparation for: remaining caries; gross
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over-preparation; pulp exposure; and/or failure to complete
procedure on same day starting check is given.

The following criteria will be weighed equally in grading the
complex amalgam finished restoration: occlusal anatomy;
proximal anatomy (contour & contact); occlusion (hypo or
hyper); and gingival margin (overhang or sulcus debris). A
mandatory zero (0) grade will be given on the complex amalgam
finished restoration for: total 1lack of contact; gross
overhang; and/or failure to complete procedure on the same day
starting check is given.

The floor examiner must check the complex amalgam prep for a
base whether or not a base is needed. If a restoration is
applied without a base check, the candidate will be required
to remove the restoration. This restoration must be completed
and final checked by 5:00 pm the same day the starting check
is given.

One Class IIT cComposite Restoration. Each candidate must
complete one Class III Composite restoration. The tooth to be

restored must be vital and have a virgin Class III carious

lesion. NOTE: For the purposes of this examination,
mechanical retention, in addition to the etching, is expected
(either retention points or retention grooves.) A glaze

should not be applied to the finished restoration before
grading.

The following criteria will be weighed equally in grading the
composite preparation: outline form; depth; retention; and
mutilation of adjacent or opposing hard or soft tissues. A
mandatory =zero (0) grade will be given on the composite
preparation for: remaining caries; gross over-preparation;
pulp exposure; and/or failure to complete procedure on same
day starting check is given.

The following criteria will be weighed equally in grading the
composite finished restoration: proximal anatomy (contour &

contact); margins (over or underfill); cosmetics; and
occlusion (hypo or hyper). A mandatory zero (0) grade will be
given on the composite finished restoration for: gross

overhang; loose restoration; and/or failure to complete
procedure on the same day starting check is given.

The floor examiner must check the composite prep for a base
whether or not a base is needed. If a restoration is applied
without a base check, the candidate will be required to remove
the restoration. This restoration must be completed and final
checked by 5:00 pm the same day the starting check is given.

One Full Gold Crown. Each candidate must complete one cast
full gold crown on a molar or bicuspid. There must be
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opposing teeth in normal occlusion and at least one adjacent
tooth in contact to protect and restore. All caries, bases
and filling materials must be completely removed from the
crown preparation. Caries removal on the crown preparation
must be checked by the floor examiner before going to grading.
All teeth used for the crown preparation must be vital. Teeth
having previous endodontic treatment are not permitted. At
the discretion of the floor examiner, an acceptable buildup
may be required.

The following criteria will be weighed equally in grading the
crown preparation: occlusal reduction; axial reduction;
absence of undercuts; and mutilation of adjacent or opposing
hard or soft tissues. A mandatory zero (0) grade will be
given on the crown preparation for: gross over-preparation;
and/or pulp exposure.

The following criteria will be weighed equally in grading the
crown seated casting: seating of casting; occlusal anatomy
and finish; proximal anatomy (contour & contact); occlusion
(hypo or hyper); and retention. A mandatory zero (0) grade
will be given on the crown seated casting for: total lack of
contact; and/or overhanging or open gingival margin.

If you have contracted with a private lab to do the lab work
- on the gold crown, notify the floor examiner. He will sign
the lab prescription for you.

This restoration may be started on Wednesday, Thursday, or
Friday. The crown must be cemented and final checked by 5:00
pm on Friday.

Prosthetics. Each candidate will be required to make an upper
and a lower final or master impression on a totally edentulous
patient (overlay denture patients are acceptable). These
impressions must be completed and final checked by 5:00 pm the
same day the starting check is given. The impressions are to
be poured with stone that is provided by the Board on the same
day the starting check is given. Candidates will construct
base plates and wax bite rims and establish vertical and
centric relations. Previously prepared custom trays may be
used upon request at the time of the starting check.

The following criteria will be weighed equally in grading the
upper and lower impressions: extension (over or under);
retention and stability; surface detail; and presence of
voids.

The following criteria will be weighed equally in grading the
occlusal registration: vertical dimension and centric
relation.



Prosthetics does not have to be completed the same day as
started, unless it is started the last day of the exam.

Periodontics. Each candidate must complete periodontal
probing and diagnosis, and hand scaling and polishing. The
term ‘"scaling"™ includes complete removal of explorer-

detectable calculus, soft deposits and plaque, and smoothing
of unattached tooth surfaces. Unattached tooth surfaces are
the portion of the crown and root surface to which no tissue
is attached. Scaling shall be accomplished with hand
instruments only. ULTRASONIC OR OTHER MECHANICAL SCALING
DEVICES MAY NOT BE USED. The periodontal probing, diagnosis,
and scaling and polishing must be completed and final checked
by 5:00 pm on the same day the starting check is given.

The candidate shall provide full-mouth x-rays of the patient,
at least four (4) of which must be bitewings (eighteen-film
series.) Panographic films are not acceptable. X-rays must
be of diagnostic quality depicting the current conditions of
the patient’s mouth. (These x-rays should be prepared no more
than sixty (60) days prior to the examination.) Only original
radiographs are acceptable. X-rays will be retained by the
Board.

Patient acceptability will be evaluated on the basis of : (1)
health condition; (2) dentition requirements; and (3) adequate
deposits. Specific patient requirements for the clinical
periodontics examination are: (1) patient must have a minimum
of twenty (20) natural teeth, at least ten (10) of which are
posterior teeth; (2) patient must have least one quadrant with
the following: (a) interproximal probing depths of three (3)
to six (6) millimeters, some of which must exceed three (3) mm
[deviation of one (1) mm from the three (3) to six (6) mm
range is acceptable]; and (b) heavy, generalized subgingival
deposits continuing through the interproximal and line angles.
Calculus must be radiographically evident.

The medical history form provided in this packet should be
completed by the patient. It is advisable to complete this
form prior to the examination. If the patient’s health
condition indicates an alteration in treatment procedures or
a need to consult the patient’s physician, the candidate must
obtain written clearance from the patient’s physician before
the patient is accepted. Patients with medical
contraindications will not be accepted.

The floor examiner assigns a patient number and reviews the
medical history form. The floor examiner will note
information concerning the patient’s health history which
should be considered by the grading examiners in determining
the patient’s acceptability for this procedure. The floor

examiner must initial the Request for Starting Check. Upon
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completion of this step, the patient is sent to the grading
area for a starting check. Note: THIS IS THE ONLY TIME THE
STARTING CHECK IS GIVEN IN THE GRADING AREA. The following
should be sent with the patient to grading: complete binder,
candidate check card and notations from the floor examiner;
pre-op x-rays; front surface mouth mirror; #5 and #2A
explorers; and color-coded perio probe. (Instruments provided

in perio examination kit. See enclosed blue information
packet.) The grading examiner will made assignments for
completion of scaling and polishing. Your assignment may

consist of one, two, three or four quadrants depending on the
difficulty of your patient. If the patient is unacceptable,
he/she will be returned to the clinic with instructions to the
candidate to acquire another patient.

When the patient returns with the starting check, a complete
periodontal examination should be completed and charted on the
form provided. (If necessary, anesthesia may be administered
at any time after the starting check is given.) In charting
for this exam, black ink will represent any restoration that
is present and serviceable whereas red ink will represent
procedures to be done. Pencil should not be used.

When probing and charting is complete, the assigned root-
planing and/or scaling and polishing should be completed and
post-op bitewing x-rays taken. Please note: Each candidate
will be allowed only one set of post-op bitewings. If a
second set of x-rays is required by the grading examiner, the
candidate will be notified. Upon completion, the patient
returns to grading with complete binder, candidate check card
and grade sheet; notations from floor examiner; pre-op and
post-op x-rays; and above-listed perio examination kit
instruments.

The following criteria will be weighed equally in grading the
Charting and Diagnosis: diagnostic quality of x-rays;
selection of patient; and ability to accurately diagnose
periodontal disease and abnormalities.

The following criteria will be weighed equally in grading the
scaling and/or root planing and polishing: thoroughness of
scaling and/or root planing and polishing; appropriate patient
management in controlling pain and bleeding; and ability to
perform therapy without tissue mutilation.



GENERAL, ITNFORMATION FOR
COMPLETING CLINTCAL PORTION OF THE EXAMINATION

Patient Information: All patients must wait in the first
floor lounge until you are ready to begin treatment. No
eating or drinking by candidates or patients is allowed in the
clinics, 1labs, hallways or upstairs waiting rooms. These
functions are permitted in the first floor lounge only. No
smoking is allowed anywhere in the School of Dentistry
Building. You may advise your patient to bring reading
material, radio with earphones, sweater and a sack lunch.

Parking. There is parking for PATIENTS ONLY in the lot north
of the School of Dentistry. This is a pay lot and you should
advise your patients that the rate is $.50 per hour or $5.00
per day. Board candidates should park in the Mississippi
Veterans Memorial Stadium parking lot which is directly across
North State Street from the Medical Center. A shuttle bus
operates every 15 minutes from 6:30 - 9:30 am, 11:00 am -
12:30 pm and 1:30 - 6:00 pm. It is permissible for you to
unload your equipment at the front entrance of the School of
Dentistry. Patient parking is limited and if Board candidates
use the north lot your patient may not be able to find a
parking space.

Grade sheet packets containing all of the grade sheets you
will need for this examination will be distributed at
orientation Tuesday, May 30th. It is critical that you do not
lose your candidate check card or any of the grade cards --
these are your responsibility.

Infection Control: The Mississippi State Board of Dental
Examiners mandates candidates to follow the current
recommended infection control procedures as published by the
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. It is required
that all patient care activities be with gloves, masks,
protective eyewear, and scrub tops (without sleeves or
undershirts showing). Gloves and masks will be provided. The
School of Dentistry does not furnish protective eyewear or
scrub tops.

Each candidate is allowed to bring one chairside assistant.

The candidate is responsible for obtaining his/her own

assistant, making any monetary arrangements, and for the
conduct of his/her assistant during the examination.

Assistants must complete the enclosed registration form,
attach a recent photograph, and sign the form. This sheet
must be returned with the candidate’s Board application.
Assistants will be given lapel pins with corresponding numbers
of the candidates they are assisting. Assistants must stay at
the assigned operatory or in the lounge on the first floor.




Dental school graduates may not serve as dental assistants for
this examination.

Candidates may wish to furnish their own instruments,
handpieces, and local anesthetic syringe. Instruments,
equipment, and supplies available from the School of Dentistry
are listed in the enclosed blue information packet.
Candidates must furnish their own casting gold. It may be to
the candidate’s advantage to furnish his/her own impression
material so he/she will be using material to which he/she is
accustomed.

Candidates may do their own lab work or may contract with the
independent laboratory of their choice--the floor examiner
will sign the written work authorization. Candidates who
contract with private labs are advised to make arrangements
with the lab well in advance of the exam. The lab should be
notified of the specific gold requirements and time
constraints. CANDIDATES ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR COMPLETION OF LAB
WORK WITHIN THE TIMEFRAME REQUIREMENTS OF THIS EXAMINATION.
Candidates doing their own lab work using the dental school
lab facilities may request that a technician operate the
thermotrol/centrifugal casting machine. Type III Crown and
bridge gold with not less than 46% yellow gold is recommended.
Candidates may do their own wax patterns, investing, and clean

up.

Record-Keeping System for Patients: Proper record-keeping is
deemed by the Board to be part of the testing procedure. File
patient histories with the Dental School Records Desk, second
floor, main entrance hall to Dental School. Hours: 7:00 am
to 5:30 pm. Fee: $5.00 per patient. A special form will be
provided by the school. Each patient must be filed with the
school. You may complete this step at any time during the day
you are working on the patient. PATTIENT RECORDS MUST BE
TURNED IN TO THE RECORDS DESK AT THE END OF THE DAY. If you
are completing further work on the same patient, you may pick
up the records when you need them again. A slot is provided
for returning records after 5:30 pm. On the last day of the
examination, record room personnel will report to the floor
examiner any candidates with delinquent records, i.e. missing
or incomplete records. A candidate’s file is considered
INCOMPLETE until all record requirements have been met.
Candidates must meet all record requirements before they are
considered for licensure. (See blue instruction packet for
complete details.)

All teeth will be numbered 1 through 32 starting with the
upper right third molar and ending with the lower right third
molar.
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10.

11.

Patients should be seated and ready for a starting check at
your assigned unit by 8:00 am. Starting checks will be given
for all procedures, except perio, by the floor examiner. The
Request for Starting Check for perio must be signed by the

floor examiner. Remain in your assigned operatory until the
floor examiner gets to you. Please have your patient seated
in an upright position, with a mouth mirror, explorer, pre-op
X-rays, pre-op model, patient record, appropriate grade cards,
and candidate check card available. At this time, the floor
examiner will fill in the following candidate check card
blanks: tooth number, date, difficulty, and examiner initial.
You may begin your procedure at this time. After all requests
for starting checks have been honored, the floor examiner will
return to each candidate’s operatory to assign patient numbers
to your candidate check card and your appropriate grade cards
and distribute patient lapel pins. Each procedure requires a
separate patient number. This patient number must be worn by
the patient while being treated or graded. Keep your patient
number lapel pin if your patient is to return at a later time
or day for the same procedure. At the completion of a
procedure, please place the lapel pin in the collection box
located on the clinic floor.

Two starting checks may be given on the same patient.
However, it is the candidate’s responsibility to abide by the
time requirements presented in your instructions. EACH
PROCEDURE REQUIRES A PATIENT NUMBER. Only one procedure at a
time may be presented to the grading clinic for grading.

Careful consideration will be given to the difficulty
determination. If circumstances exist that may adversely
affect the satisfactory completion of a procedure according to
our grading criteria, necessary comments will be made in the
remarks section of your grade card.

Each candidate must be prepared to discuss a Diagnosis and
Treatment Plan for any of his/her patients.

Do not polish adjacent teeth or o0ld adjacent restorations
without written consent of the floor examiner. If you have a
rough surface on an existing restoration and/or a rough
surface on a tooth adjacent to the tooth you are planning to
prepare, you must get permission from the floor examiner to
polish the proximal surface of the adjacent tooth. At the
time of the starting check, the floor examiner must document
and initial his consent in the "Remarks" section of the grade
sheet. If you scratch or cut an adjacent tooth while cutting
the preparation, do not polish or smooth the tooth before
grading. If you polish an adjacent tooth without written
permission from the floor examiner, points will be deducted
from your grade.
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12. In the event of a pulp exposure, consult a floor examiner
immediately. The patient will be escorted to the grading
clinic for instructions. If a rubber dam is not in place,
apply one immediately. PLEASE NOTE: This is the only time a
patient should go to Grading with a rubber dam in place. The
grading examiners will return your patient with treatment
instructions.

13. Irreqularities: It is the candidate’s responsibility to bring
possible irreqularities +to the attention of the floor
examiner. If you feel that an error has been made in any
aspect of your examination, confer with your floor examiner
immediately. He will notify a second examiner to witness and
document the circumstances.

14. When you are ready for a grade at any point in the
examination, escort your patient to the entrance of the
grading clinic reception room with the items listed in the
lower right hand corner of your grade card. It is YOUR
responsibility to make sure the floor examiner has marked the
correct patient number and tooth number on the grade card.
Send only one grade card to grading at a time.

15. Patients will be graded in the order in which they arrive in
the grading clinic.

16. The following x-rays will be required:

A. Recent periapical of any anterior tooth to be prepared.

B. Recent periapical and bitewing of any posterior tooth to
be prepared.

C Bitewing x~ray of complex amalgam preparation with pin in
place.

D. Bitewing x-ray of seated full gold crown.

E. Bitewing x-ray of each finished amalgam restoration.

F Periapical x-ray of finished composite restoration.

G Mounted, complete series of periapical and bitewing x-
rays of clinical periodontal patient. [Eighteen (18)
radiographs at least four (4) of which are bitewings.]
Panographic x-rays ARE NOT acceptable. Radiographs for
this section of the examination must be of diagnostic
gquality and depict the current condition of the patient’s
mouth. These x-rays shall have been prepared no more
than sixty (60) days prior to the examination.

H. Post-op bitewing x-rays of the perio patient after root
planing and/or scaling and polishing is completed.

With the exception of the x~-rays required in Section G (above), all
X-rays are to be mounted in 4-hole x-ray mounts. X-ray mounts will
be available on your clinic floor. Candidates will be limited to
one set of post-op bitewings for each procedure. If a 2nd set of
X-rays 1is required by the grading examiner, a note will be sent
back to the candidate authorizing the 2nd set. Pre-op Xx-rays
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should be of diagnostic quality. Patient Number and tooth number
only should be written on the x-ray mount. No patient nanmes,
candidate names, or candidate numbers should be written on x-ray
mounts. PLEASE NOTE: All x-rays are to be placed in the patient
record at the completion of each procedure or at the completion of
the exam.

17. The following alginate impressions or models will be required:
A. Pre-op dquadrant or full mouth models of tooth to be
restored. This model must accompany patient to the

grading clinic for each graded procedure.

B. Alginate impressions of all finished restorations and
seated gold crown must accompany patient to the grading
clinic.

Pre-op models must be made by the candidate. The impression

should be poured and trimmed in your assigned laboratory.

18. Grading. This Board has adopted a "blind" grading system.
Under this system, at least one examiner will be assigned to
each clinic as a "floor examiner." The floor examiner will
assign patient and tooth numbers, give starting checks,
determine the degree of difficulty and be available for
emergency situations. All procedures will be graded in a
grading clinic which will be set up entirely separate from the
candidate clinics. Each procedure will be graded by three
examiners. Patients will be escorted to the entrance of the
grading clinic by the candidate or his assistant; they should
take with them models, x-rays, candidate check card and grade
card--do not send more than one grade card at a time. The
patient will be returned to the appropriate clinic by an
escort provided by the Board. Under no circumstances will
candidates or their assistants be allowed in the grading
clinic. Further details and directions will be given in the
orientation session.

TO BE SUCCESSFUL ON THIS EXAMINATION, A CANDIDATE MUST MAKE PASSING
GRADES ON AT LEAST THREE (3) OF THE CLINICAL PROCEDURES AND MUST
MAKE A GRADE OF 70% OR ABOVE AS AN OVERALL AVERAGE. SO THAT THERE
IS NO MISUNDERSTANDING--IF YOU FAIL FOUR (4) CLINICAL PROCEDURES,
YOU DO NOT GET A LICENSE--REGARDLESS OF YOUR OVERALL AVERAGE. (A
breakdown on the grading for each procedure is enclosed.) See
pages 3-8 of this packet for grading criteria.

DECEIT, FRAUD, OR PATIENT MISMANAGEMENT WILL RESULT IN AUTOMATIC
DISMISSAL.

19. All grade cards will be retained by the grading examiners in
the grading clinic. Each candidate should check the candidate
check card for examiner initials when the patient is returned
to the clinic. If discrepancies exist, consult the floor
examiner at once.
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20. Each candidate is responsible for his or her own cleanup.

THE FOLLOWING MUST BE DONE WHEN ALL CLINICAL PROCEDURES ARE
COMPLETED:

1. Write your candidate number on your candidate check card
and give it to the floor examiner.

2. Place pre-op models in a plastic bag: Indicate the tooth
number, patient number, and candidate number, and deliver
to the grading clinic. (Bags are available in the

clinics.)

3. Place your denture impressions, final models, and base
plates with bite rims in a plastic bag. Indicate your
patient number, candidate number, and deliver to the
grading clinic.

4, Return of dental school equipment and instruments:
Equipment and instruments issued by the University of
Mississippi School of Dentistry to Board candidates must
be returned before the candidate leaves the facility at
the end of testing on Friday. Return of equipment and
instruments to the School of Dentistry is deemed by the
Board to be a part of the testing procedure, and a
candidate’s file is considered INCOMPLETE until all
equipment and instruments are returned and any losses
settled. Board results will not be released to
candidates whose account has not been cleared with the
School of Dentistry.

COMPLETION OF JURISPRUDENCE AND CLINICAL PROCEDURES IS REQUIRED
BEFORE A CANDIDATE IS CONSIDERED FOR LICENSURE. Requirements
concerning record-keeping and return of dental school equipment and
instruments are deemed by the Board to be part of the examination
procedure and must be satisfactorily fulfilled before a candidate
is considered for licensure.

EXAMINATION RESULTS: You will be notified by mail of the
examination results within four (4) weeks. Results will not be
released by telephone. Please do not call members of the Board or
the Board office for your examination results. You must receive
your license and record it in the Circuit Clerk’s office before you
practice dentistry in the State of Mississippi -- this should be
done in the county in which you reside. You may not apply for

prescribing privileges with the Drug Enforcement Administration
until vou receive your license and establish a permanent office
address.
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Tuesday, May 30, 1995
1:30 pm

Wednesday, May 31, 1995
8:00 am

Thursday, June 1, 1995
8:00 am

Friday, June 2, 1995

8§:00 am

GRADING AREA:

PATIENT WAITING AREAS:

LABORATORIES:

LOCKER ROOMS:

EXAMINATION SCHEDULE

Orientation Session - Room D-113

Floor (Dental School)

Clinical Examinations
Dental School

Clinical Examinations
Dental School

Clinical Examinations
Dental School

Fourth Floor - Dental

Fourth Floor - Dental

- First

- Fourth Floor -

- Fourth Floor -

- Fourth Floor -

School

School

Room D-408 (Fourth Floor) and
Rooms 513-516 (Fifth Floor)

Female Candidates - Room D-408
Male Candidates - Room D-115
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