MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

Suite 100 ● 600 East Amite Street ● Jackson, MS ● 39201-2801 ● 601-944-9622 ● www.dentalboard.ms.gov

MEMORANDUM

TO: DENTISTS OR DENTAL HYGIENISTS REQUESTING A PROVISIONAL LICENSE

FROM: CHRIS L. HUTCHINSON, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

SUBJECT: APPLICATION PACKET AND CHECKLIST Updated March 19, 2019

Attached to this memorandum are (1) an Application for Provisional License to Practice Dentistry or Dental Hygiene; and (2) the laws and regulations pertaining to the practices of dentistry and dental hygiene in the State of Mississippi. The purpose of this memorandum is to reiterate information contained in the Application and to provide you with a checklist to ensure a completed Application prior to submission to the Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners. Additionally, this Application packet is valid for ninety (90) days from the date of mailing. If the Board does not receive a signed, completed Application and the appropriate fee during this time, you must request a new Application packet and complete it accordingly.

- 1. Your fee for provisional licensure is \$25.00, and this fee is <u>non-refundable</u>. Payment must be in the form of a certified check or money order. Upon issuance of licensure, you will owe a renewal fee.
- 2. All Applications must be typed and mailed by certified mail, return receipt requested, to the above address. Incomplete Applications will be returned to the applicant.
- 3. It is at the sole discretion of this Board to grant licensure, and the filing of this Application, along with the payment of the \$25.00, in no way guarantees approval of licensure.
- 4. Dentists and dental hygienists practicing with a Provisional License in the State of Mississippi are allowed to only work at Board-approved Mississippi dental or dental hygiene schools, and these dentists and dental hygienists shall not practice their respective professions in the private sector.
- 5. Dentists and dental hygienists licensed by this Board must practice a minimum of three (3) months per year in Mississippi to remain on active status, and the three (3) months do not need to be consecutive. Board Regulation 49 defines three (3) months as being one (1) day per month for any three (3) months of the preceding license renewal period.
- 6. All questions must be answered fully, truthfully, and accurately; if, however, a question does not pertain to you, so indicate by typing "N/A" in the space provided. If additional space is needed to respond to certain questions, please put your response on plain white paper and number your response to correspond with the question on the Application. The Board encourages you to provide as much detail as possible. All requested supporting data must be received by the Director of this Board.
- 7. You must provide a written statement indicating that you will appear, at your own expense, before this Board for a personal interview, and this Board must have a completed Application and all supporting information prior to scheduling an interview.
- 8. You must provide sworn statements/affidavits from all employers noting dates and types of employment during the past five (5) years. If you have been self-employed during this time, prepare a sworn statement/affidavit noting dates and types of businesses owned/operated.
- 9. You are required to have all colleges/universities and dental/dental hygiene schools attended mail certified copies of the appropriate transcripts <u>directly</u> to this Board.
- 10. You are required to have the Joint Commission on National Dental Examinations mail certified copies of your National Board grade cards <u>directly</u> to this Board.
- 11. You must make a self-query from the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) and Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank (HIPDB), and the <u>original</u> of this form must be forwarded to this Board's office.
- 12. You are required to have the state dental/dental hygiene licensing board for all states in which you currently are, or have ever been, licensed to mail certifications regarding your status, disciplinary actions, any reasons for licensure revocation or suspension, etc., <u>directly</u> to this Board.

- 13. You are required to have the dean of the dental/dental hygiene school at which you seek employment send a letter of recommendation <u>directly</u> to the Board.
- 14. Proof of professional liability insurance coverage and that such coverage has not been refused, declined, canceled, non-renewed, or modified may be mailed with your Application or submitted to this Board by the insurance carrier.
- 15. Proof of participation in continuing education programs and certification in Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation should be mailed with the Application.
- 16. The names, addresses, and telephone numbers of three (3) patients treated within the previous six (6) months should be mailed with the Application.
- 17. You will be required to successfully complete a jurisprudence examination based on the <u>Mississippi</u> <u>Dental Practice Act</u> and the Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners rules and regulations.

APPLICATION CHECKLIST

Application form completed; picture included
Certified check or money order for \$25.00 included with Application
Written statement agreeing to Board interview provided
Sworn statements/affidavits from all employers during the past five (5) years
Certification(s) from board of dental/dental hygiene examiners in state(s) where applicant has ever been
licensed, or is currently licensed, to practice dentistry/dental hygiene requested
Transcript(s) from college(s) and/or university(ies) requested
Transcript(s) from dental/dental hygiene school(s) requested
Letter of recommendation from dental/dental hygiene school dean requested
Testimonials of Moral Character provided
Certification of Intent completed
Proof of continuing education provided
Proof of Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation provided
Proof of liability insurance coverage provided/requested
National Board examination grades requested
NPDB and HIPDB information requested
Names, addresses, and telephone numbers of three (3) patients treated within the previous six (6)
months provided
Mississippi jurisprudence examination material reviewed
Copy of Driver's License and SS Card

MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

Suite 100 ● 600 East Amite Street ● Jackson, MS ● 39201-2801 ● 601-944-9622 ● www.dentalboard.ms.gov

APPLICATION FOR PROVISIONAL LICENSE TO PRACTICE DENTISTRY OR DENTAL HYGIENE (Circle One)

An unmounted bust photo not less than 2½" x 2½" of applicant taken not more than six months prior to date of application. Photo must be securely attached to this space.

APPLICATION MUST BE TYPEWRITTEN

This Application must be typewritten and mailed within ninety (90) days by certified mail, return receipt requested, to the above address, and all fees must be paid by money order or certified check and are <u>NON-REFUNDABLE</u>. Applications must be complete before an interview is scheduled before the Board, and incomplete Applications will be returned to the applicant. Each question must be answered fully, truthfully, and accurately. If a request for information is not applicable to you, so state by marking "N/A." If an explanation is required and there is not sufficient space provided, please put your response on plain white paper and number your response to correspond with the question on this Application. All requested supporting data must be received by the Director of this Board.

I hereby make application for issuance of a Provisional License to practice in the State of Mississippi, all in accordance with and subject to the rules and regulations of the Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners and the laws governing the practices of dentistry and dental hygiene in the State of Mississippi. I understand that I am allowed to only practice at a Board-approved Mississippi dental or dental hygiene school, and I further understand that I must practice a minimum of three (3) months per year in the State of Mississippi to remain active and that the three (3) months do not need to be consecutive (see memorandum).

First Name	Middle Nam	е	Maiden	Name	Last Name
Social Security Number	Race		Sex	Height	Weight
City and State of Birth	Country of E	Birth	Date of	Birth	Age
Current Residence Address	(STREET ONLY)		City	State	Zip Code
Current Office Address (STR	REET ONLY)		City	State	Zip Code
Current Mailing Address (ST	REET OR POST	OFFICE)	City	State	Zip Code
Residence: Telephone Num	ber Fax Number	•	Office: Telepho	ne Number	Fax Number
Dental/Dental Hygiene Scho	ol Graduated Fror	n		Date	Degree
	(THIS SECTIO	ON FOR MSB	DE USE ONLY)		
Application Form Received Proof of CPR Statement Agreeing to Inter National Board Grade Score Sworn Statements from En Names/Addresses/Telepho College Transcript(s) Dental/Dental Hygiene Sche Recommendation from Dea Testimonials of Moral Chara State Board Certifications o Passed Jurisprudence	es ployers for Past 5 Yeane Numbers of 3 Patie pol Transcript(s) ployers pacter f Licensure	Part I ars_ nts_	y Insurance E AADB Reports E Date E	Proof of Cor Investigator Part II	
Passed Jurisprudence E: Approved by Board In	terview Date	Exami Licens	nation Score se Number	Date Issued	

Rev. March 4, 2012 Page 1 of 4

PERSONAL AND PROFESSIONAL

Are you a citi	zen of the United	d States of America? ☐ Yes	□ No
Are you (ched	ck one) 🗆 Si	ingle \square Married	ed Divorced
If married,	Male:	Maiden name of spouse a	and address before marriage
	Female:	Name of spouse and addr	ress before marriage
Are you in go	od health? □ Y	es □ No. If no. explain any	y illness or infirmity on attached sheet of paper.
•		· •	ears, including times as a full-time student, service in the Arme
	• •	• • • • • • •	al hygiene in all states, and other occupations. Provide swor
		•	ment from all employers during the past five (5) years. If yo
			orn statement/affidavit noting dates and types of businesse
		• • •	<u> </u>
•	•	, , , ,	ate of Mississippi? \square Yes $\ \square$ No $\ $ If yes, explain fully with th
		ched sheet of paper.	
•			of conduct for practicing? ☐ Yes ☐ No
-		• •	Board, another state board, or a regional board? \square Yes \square N
Have you eve	r been refused l	icensure examinations given	by this Board, another state board, or a regional board? \Box Ye
☐ No If yes,	state which ex	aminations, parts, and date	es
List all states	in which you are	e currently and have ever bee	en licensed to practice dentistry/dental hygiene
-			
	-		Examiners in each state in which you are currently license
-		•	your license status and good standing. In states where yo
-	ave been licens se expiration o		e Boards must provide this Board with a certified statemer
-	•		
Are you certif	•		rs? Yes No If yes, please provide your reference numbe
National Day		• •	t be sent directly to the Board by the Joint Commission o
		number 1-800-621-8099.	ard mailed to this Board's office, you may contact the Joir
	-		rd? ☐ Yes ☐ No If yes, state which part or parts and giv
•		•	
<u> </u>		rol DEA Number to administer	
•	•		er, prescribe, or dispense controlled substances? Yes N
			Have you ever surrendered your DE
		-	yes, explain fully on attached sheet of paper.
-	•	·	obation, and/or had your license suspended, cancelled, restricted
-		•	y professional society? \square Yes $\ \square$ No $\ $ Is any such disciplinar
action agains	t you currently po	ending before any state board	d, hospital, or professional society? \square Yes $\ \square$ No Have you eve
resigned from	the medical sta	ff of a hospital while an investi	tigation or disciplinary hearing was being conducted? \Box Yes $$ [
No If yes to	any item, expla	in fully with the names, boa	ards, reasons, dates, etc., on attached sheet of paper.
Have you eve	er been a party	to any malpractice claims, de	emand, or suits? Yes No Are any such suits current
pending?	Yes □ No Hav	ve you ever been denied malr	practice insurance? Yes No If yes to any item, explain
. •		•	liability insurance coverage and that such coverage has no
-	-	•	lified may be mailed with this Application or submitted to thi
	e by the insura		
	•		ny other drug having addiction-forming or addiction-sustainin
-			Yes ☐ No Have you ever been treated for any mental disorder
			ned sheet of paper, giving dates, names of institutions, etc
C3 _ IN	nent was receiv	· •	ioa ontot or paper, giving dates, names or matitutions, etc

Rev. March 19, 2019

17.	Have you ever been convicted of violating federal or state	• •						
	substances, or are any such charges currently pending a	gainst you? if thes in No in yes,	explain fully on attached sheet					
18.	of paper. Have you ever been arrested, convicted of a felony, or convicted of any crime, felony, or misdemeanor related to your dental or dental hygiene practice, or are any such charges currently pending against you? Yes No If yes, explain fully on							
	attached sheet of paper.							
19.	A letter of recommendation must be sent to the Boa the applicant seeks employment.	rd from the Dean of the dental/o	dental hygiene school at which					
20.	Proof of participation in continuing education programmer of this Board. Proof of participation in Application.		-					
21.	Proof of current certification in Cardiopulmonary Repractitioner may forward to this Board a copy of the mailing this Application.	• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •						
22.	The names, addresses, and telephone numbers of thr	ee (3) patients treated within the	previous six (6) months should					
	be mailed with this Application.							
23.	Practitioners must make a self-query from the Nation Protection Data Bank (HIPDB). This can be done by a Virginia, 20153-0832. The NPDB-HIPDB's telephone of 4109. The NPDB-HIPDB provides the practitioner of this form must be forwarded to this Boar	ontacting the NPDB-HIPDB at P number is 1-800-767-6732, and the with a form even though no re	ost Office Box 10832, Chantilly, he facsimile number is 703-802-					
24.	A written statement agreeing to appear before the B	oard for an interview must be i	ncluded with this Application.					
	EDUC	CATION						
denta	E: Practitioner must have forwarded to the Director al/dental hygiene school attended with subjects, grades a Board prior to license being issued.							
25.	Undergraduate School or Schools Attended:	Period of Attendance and Dec	gree Granted:					
	College or University - Address							
	College or University - Address							
	College or University - Address							
26.	Dental/Dental Hygiene School or Schools Attended:	Period of Attendance and Dec	gree Granted:					
	Dental/Dental Hygiene School - Address							
	Dental/Dental Hygiene School - Address	_						
	Dental/Dental Hygiene School - Address							
	CERTIFICATI	ON OF INTENT						
27.	Pursuant to Miss, Code Ann. 8 73-9-28 and Board Regu	lation 7 I	, hereby					
21 .	Pursuant to Miss. Code Ann. § 73-9-28 and Board Regucertify that within() days after Mississippi, I will establish permanent employment as an school. The name and address of the educational institution	instructor with a Board-approved	Mississippi dental/dental hygiene					
Signa	ture	SWORN TO AND SUBSCR	IBED BEFORE ME on this the					
Турес	d Name	day of	, 20					
Турес	d Address		SEAL					
		Notary Public						
Турес	d City, State, Zip	State	County					
		My Commission Expires:						

Rev. March 19, 2019

TESTIMONIALS OF MORAL CHARACTER

I offer the following references from two reputable citizens of the state of which I am a resident. (If not convenient to have

28.

character references sign application, two letters of recommendation properly notarized and mailed directly to the **Director of the Board will suffice.**) *Complete this section only if letters of recommendation are mailed directly to the Director of the Board. Name This certifies that I have been personally acquainted with ____ for _____ years, that I know _ to be of good moral character, and hereby recommend to the Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners as entirely worthy of a Provisional License to practice in the State of Mississippi pursuant to law. SWORN BEFORE ME AND SUBSCRIBED IN MY PRESENCE Name this the ____ day of ____, 20___ NOTARY PUBLIC____ Address Street My Commission Expires State State_ Signature____ County_ **SEAL** This certifies that I have been personally acquainted with _____ for _____ years, that I know _ to be of good moral character, and hereby recommend to the Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners as entirely worthy of a Provisional License to practice in the State of Mississippi pursuant to law. SWORN BEFORE ME AND SUBSCRIBED IN MY PRESENCE Address this the ____ day of ____, 20_ Street NOTARY PUBLIC__ My Commission Expires____ City State Zip State Signature___ County **SEAL** ACKNOWLEDGMENT 29. In addition to the foregoing, I add the following: I have read the Mississippi Dental Practice Act and Board Regulations. I solemnly declare upon my honor that if granted a Provisional License to practice in Mississippi, I will respectfully comply with any law and regulation governing the practices of dentistry/dental hygiene in this State, and will do my best to uphold and maintain the ethics of the profession. I further declare that I have never practiced illegally in this State or any other state. (a) I hereby grant permission to the Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners to secure additional information concerning me or any statement in this Application from any person or any source the Board may desire. Additionally, I understand that the Board will post on its Internet web site all information it deems necessary to enable the public to verify my licensure status. I further agree to submit to questioning by the Board or any member thereof, and to substantiate my statements if desired by the Board. (b) I have attached a money order or certified check in the amount of Twenty-Five and No/100 Dollars (\$25.00) made payable to the Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners. I understand that this Application fee is non-refundable. (c) , the applicant herein, depose and say that all facts, statements, and answers contained in this Application are true and correct; I am not omitting any information which might be of value to this Board in determining my qualifications and character, whether it is called for or not; and I agree that any falsification, omission, or withholding of information or facts concerning my qualifications as an applicant shall be sufficient to bar me from licensure in Mississippi, and such falsifications, omissions, or withholding shall serve as sufficient grounds for the suspension, cancellation, or revocation of my Mississippi Provisional License even though it is not discovered until after issuance. (d) SWORN BEFORE ME AND SUBSCRIBED IN MY Name Address___ PRESENCE this the _____ day of ______, 20____ Street NOTARY PUBLIC My Commission Expires_____ Zip City State State_ **SEAL** Signature___ County___

Rev. March 19, 2019