
MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS
Suite 100 ! 600 East Amite Street ! Jackson, MS ! 39201-2801 ! 601-944-9622 ! www.dentalboard.ms.gov

M E M O R A N D U M

TO: DENTISTS OR DENTAL HYGIENISTS REQUESTING A PROVISIONAL TEACHING LICENSE 

FROM: CHRIS L. HUTCHINSON, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

SUBJECT: APPLICATION PACKET AND CHECKLIST                                                Updated March 9, 2019

Attached to this memorandum are (1) an Application for Provisional Teaching License to Practice
Dentistry or Dental Hygiene; and (2) the laws and regulations pertaining to the practices of dentistry and dental
hygiene in the State of Mississippi.  The purpose of this memorandum is to reiterate information contained in
the Application and to provide you with a checklist to ensure a completed Application prior to submission to
the Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners.  Additionally, this Application packet is valid for ninety (90)
days from the date of mailing.  If the Board does not receive a signed, completed Application and the
appropriate fee during this time, you must request a new Application packet and complete it accordingly.

1. Your fee for provisional teaching licensure is $25.00, and this fee is non-refundable.  Payment must be 
in the form of a certified check or money order. Upon issuance of licensure, you will owe a renewal 
fee. 

2. All Applications must be typed and mailed by certified mail, return receipt requested, to the above 
address.  Incomplete Applications will be returned to the applicant.

3. It is at the sole discretion of this Board to grant licensure, and the filing of this Application, along with 
the payment of the $25.00, in no way guarantees approval of licensure.

4. Dentists and dental hygienists practicing with a Provisional Teaching License in the State of Mississippi 
are allowed to only teach at Board-approved Mississippi dental or dental hygiene schools, and these 
dentists and dental hygienists shall not practice their respective professions in the private sector.

5. Dentists and dental hygienists licensed by this Board must practice a minimum of three (3) months per 
year in Mississippi to remain on active status, and the three (3) months do not need to be consecutive. 
Board Regulation 49 defines three (3) months as being one (1) day per month for any three (3) months 
of the preceding license renewal period.

6. All questions must be answered fully, truthfully, and accurately; if, however, a question does not pertain 
to you, so indicate by typing "N/A" in the space provided.  If additional space is needed to respond to 
certain questions, please put your response on plain white paper and number your response to cor-
respond with the question on the Application.  The Board encourages you to provide as much detail as 
possible.  All requested supporting data must be received by the Director of this Board.

7. You must provide a written statement indicating that you will appear, at your own expense, before this 
Board for a personal interview, and this Board must have a completed Application and all supporting 
information prior to scheduling an interview.

8. You must provide sworn statements/affidavits from all employers noting dates and types of employment 
during the past five (5) years.  If you have been self-employed during this time, prepare a sworn state-
ment/affidavit noting dates and types of businesses owned/operated.

9. You are required to have all colleges/universities and dental/dental hygiene schools attended mail 
certified copies of the appropriate transcripts directly to this Board.

10. You are required to have the Joint Commission on National Dental Examinations mail certified copies 
of your National Board grade cards directly to this Board.

11. You must make a self-query from the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) and Healthcare Integrity 
and Protection Data Bank (HIPDB), and the original of this form must be forwarded to this Board's office.

12. You are required to have the state dental/dental hygiene licensing board for all states in which you 
currently are, or have ever been, licensed to mail certifications regarding your status, disciplinary 
actions, any reasons for licensure revocation or suspension, etc., directly to this Board. 



13. You are required to have the dean of the dental/dental hygiene school at which you seek employment
send a letter of recommendation directly to the Board.

14. Proof of professional liability insurance coverage and that such coverage has not been refused,
declined, canceled, non-renewed, or modified may be mailed with your Application or submitted to this
Board by the insurance carrier.

15. Proof of participation in continuing education programs and certification in Cardiopulmonary Resusci-
tation should be mailed with the Application.

16. The names, addresses, and telephone numbers of three (3) patients treated within the previous six (6)
months should be mailed with the Application.

17. You will be required to successfully complete a jurisprudence examination based on the Mississippi
Dental Practice Act and the Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners rules and regulations.

APPLICATION CHECKLIST

G Application form completed; picture included
G Certified check or money order for $25.00 included with Application
G Written statement agreeing to Board interview provided
G Sworn statements/affidavits from all employers during the past five (5) years
G Certification(s) from board of dental/dental hygiene examiners in state(s) where applicant has ever been 

licensed, or is currently licensed, to practice dentistry/dental hygiene requested
G Transcript(s) from college(s) and/or university(ies) requested
G Transcript(s) from dental/dental hygiene school(s) requested
G Letter of recommendation from dental/dental hygiene school dean requested
G Testimonials of Moral Character provided
G Certification of Intent completed
G Proof of continuing education provided
G Proof of Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation provided
G Proof of liability insurance coverage provided/requested
G National Board examination grades requested
G NPDB and HIPDB information requested
G Names, addresses, and telephone numbers of three (3) patients treated within the previous six (6) 

months provided
G Mississippi jurisprudence examination material reviewed
G Copy of Driver's License and SS Card 
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An unmounted bust photo
not less than 2½" x 2½"

of applicant taken not more
than six months prior
to date of application.

Photo must be securely
attached to this space.

MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS
Suite 100 ! 600 East Amite Street ! Jackson, MS ! 39201-2801 ! 601-944-9622 ! www.dentalboard.ms.gov

APPLICATION FOR PROVISIONAL TEACHING LICENSE
TO PRACTICE DENTISTRY OR DENTAL HYGIENE (Circle One)

APPLICATION MUST BE TYPEWRITTEN

This Application must be typewritten and mailed within ninety (90) days by certified mail, return receipt
requested, to the above address, and all fees must be paid by money order or certified check and are
NON-REFUNDABLE.  Applications must be complete before an interview is scheduled before the
Board, and incomplete Applications will be returned to the applicant.  Each question must be answered
fully, truthfully, and accurately.  If a request for information is not applicable to you, so state by marking "N/A."
If an explanation is required and there is not sufficient space provided, please put your response on plain white
paper and number your response to correspond with the question on this Application.  All requested supporting
data must be received by the Director of this Board.

I hereby make application for issuance of a Provisional Teaching License to practice in the State of Mississippi,
all in accordance with and subject to the rules and regulations of the Mississippi State Board of Dental
Examiners and the laws governing the practices of dentistry and dental hygiene in the State of Mississippi.
I understand that I am allowed to only teach at a Board-approved Mississippi dental or dental hygiene school,
and I further understand that I must teach a minimum of three (3) months per year in the State of Mississippi
to remain active and that the three (3) months do not need to be consecutive (see memorandum).

First Name Middle Name Maiden Name Last Name

Social Security Number Race Sex Height Weight

City and State of Birth Country of Birth Date of Birth Age

Current Residence Address (STREET ONLY) City State Zip Code

Current Office Address (STREET ONLY) City State Zip Code

Current Mailing Address (STREET OR POST OFFICE) City State Zip Code

Residence:  Telephone Number Fax Number          Office: Telephone Number Fax Number

Dental/Dental Hygiene School Graduated From Date Degree

(THIS SECTION FOR MSBDE USE ONLY)
G Application Form Received G Application Fee Received G U. S. Citizen G Yes   G No
G Proof of CPR G Proof of Liability Insurance G Proof of Continuing Education
G Statement Agreeing to Interview G NPDB, HIPDB, AADB Reports      G Investigator Checked Application
G National Board Grade Scores G Part I  Date G Part II  Date
G Sworn Statements from  Employers for Past 5 Years
G Names/Addresses/Telephone Numbers of 3 Patients
G College Transcript(s)
G Dental/Dental Hygiene School Transcript(s)
G Recommendation from Dean
G Testimonials of Moral Character
G State Board Certifications of Licensure
G Passed Jurisprudence Examination Date Examination Score
G Approved by Board Interview Date License Number Date Issued
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PERSONAL AND PROFESSIONAL

1. Are you a citizen of the United States of America?  G Yes   G No

2. Are you (check one) G Single G Married G Divorced
3. If married, Male: Maiden name of spouse and address before marriage

Female: Name of spouse and address before marriage

4. Are you in good health?  G Yes   G No  If no, explain any illness or infirmity on attached sheet of paper.
5. Give a brief history of your activities for the past ten (10) years, including times as a full-time student, service in the Armed

Forces of the United States, practice of dentistry or dental hygiene in all states, and other occupations.  Provide sworn
statements/affidavits noting dates and types of employment from all employers during the past five (5) years.  If you
have been self-employed during this time, prepare a sworn statement/affidavit noting dates and types of businesses
owned/operated.

6. Have you ever practiced dentistry/dental hygiene in the State of Mississippi?  G Yes   G No  If yes, explain fully with the
dates and locations on attached sheet of paper.

7. Do you intend to adhere to the A.D.A./A.D.H.A. standards of conduct for practicing?  G Yes   G No

8. Have you ever failed licensure examinations given by this Board, another state board, or a regional board?  G Yes   G No
If yes, state which examinations, parts, and dates.

9. Have you ever been refused licensure examinations given by this Board, another state board, or a regional board? G Yes

G No  If yes, state which examinations, parts, and dates.
10. List all states in which you are currently and have ever been licensed to practice dentistry/dental hygiene.

The Secretary of the Board of Dental/Dental Hygiene Examiners in each state in which you are currently licensed
must provide this Board with a certified statement of your license status and good standing.  In states where you
previously have been licensed, the Secretaries of those Boards must provide this Board with a certified statement
of your license expiration or revocation.

11. Are you certified by the National Board of Dental Examiners?  G Yes   G No  If yes, please provide your DENTPIN number.
  A copy of the grade card must be sent directly to the Board by the Joint Commission on

National Dental Examinations.  To have your grade card mailed to this Board's office, you may contact the Joint
Commission at telephone number 1-800-621-8099.

12. Have you ever failed any part or parts of the National Board?  G Yes   G No  If yes, state which part or parts and give
dates.

13. Do you currently hold a Federal DEA Number to administer, prescribe, or dispense controlled substances?  G Yes   G No
If yes, provide your current registration number.   Have you ever surrendered your DEA
number or had it revoked or restricted?  G Yes   G No  If yes, explain fully on attached sheet of paper.

14. Have you ever been disciplined, reprimanded, placed on probation, and/or had your license suspended, cancelled, restricted,
or revoked by this Board, another board, a hospital, or any professional society?  G Yes   G No  Is any such disciplinary

action against you currently pending before any state board, hospital, or professional society? G Yes   G No Have you ever

resigned from the medical staff of a hospital while an investigation or disciplinary hearing was being conducted?  G Yes   G
No  If yes to any item, explain fully with the names, boards, reasons, dates, etc., on attached sheet of paper.

15. Have you ever been a party to any malpractice claims, demand, or suits?  G Yes   G No  Are any such suits currently

pending?  G Yes   G No  Have you ever been denied malpractice insurance?  G Yes   G No  If yes to any item, explain
fully on attached sheet of paper.  Proof of professional liability insurance coverage and that such coverage has not
been refused, declined, canceled, non-renewed, or modified may be mailed with this Application or submitted to this
Board's office by the insurance carrier.

16. Have you ever been addicted to alcohol, narcotics, or any other drug having addiction-forming or addiction-sustaining
liabilities and/or received treatment for such addictions?  G Yes   G No  Have you ever been treated for any mental disorder?

G Yes   G No  If yes to any item, explain fully on attached sheet of paper, giving dates, names of institutions, etc.,
where treatment was received.
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17. Have you ever been convicted of violating federal or state laws concerning the possession, distribution, or use of controlled
substances, or are any such charges currently pending against you?  G Yes   G No  If yes, explain fully on attached sheet
of paper.

18. Have you ever been arrested, convicted of a felony, or convicted of any crime, felony, or misdemeanor related to your dental
or dental hygiene practice, or are any such charges currently pending against you?  G Yes   G No  If yes, explain fully on
attached sheet of paper.

19. A letter of recommendation must be sent to the Board from the Dean of the dental/dental hygiene school at which
the applicant seeks employment.

20. Proof of participation in continuing education programs for the previous three (3) years must be provided to the
Director of this Board.  Proof of participation in continuing education programs should be mailed with this
Application.

21. Proof of current certification in Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation must be provided to the Director of this Board.  The
practitioner may forward to this Board a copy of the current certification card, which should be included when
mailing this Application.

22. The names, addresses, and telephone numbers of three (3) patients treated within the previous six (6) months should
be mailed with this Application.

23. Practitioners must make a self-query from the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) and Healthcare Integrity and
Protection Data Bank (HIPDB).  This can be done by contacting the NPDB-HIPDB at Post Office Box 10832, Chantilly,
Virginia, 20153-0832.  The NPDB-HIPDB’s telephone number is 1-800-767-6732, and the facsimile number is 703-802-
4109.  The NPDB-HIPDB provides the practitioner with a form even though no reports have been filed, and the
original of this form must be forwarded to this Board's office.

24. A written statement agreeing to appear before the Board for an interview must be included with this Application.

EDUCATION

NOTE:  Practitioner must have forwarded to the Director of this Board a transcript from each college, university, or
dental/dental hygiene school attended with subjects, grades, and dates of graduation.  Proof of graduation must be presented
to this Board prior to license being issued.

25. Undergraduate School or Schools Attended:

College or University - Address

College or University - Address

College or University - Address

Period of Attendance and Degree Granted:

26. Dental/Dental Hygiene School or Schools Attended:

Dental/Dental Hygiene School - Address

Dental/Dental Hygiene School - Address

Dental/Dental Hygiene School - Address

Period of Attendance and Degree Granted:

CERTIFICATION OF INTENT

27. Pursuant to Miss. Code Ann. § 73-9-28 and Board Regulation 7, I, ______________________________________, hereby
certify that within ____________(________) days after issuance of a Provisional Teaching License to practice in the State
of Mississippi, I will establish permanent employment as an instructor with a Board-approved Mississippi dental/dental
hygiene school.  The name and address of the educational institution are as follows:

Signature

Typed Name

Typed Address

Typed City, State, Zip

SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED BEFORE ME on this the

________ day of __________________, 20_________.

SEAL
Notary Public

State County

My Commission Expires:
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TESTIMONIALS OF MORAL CHARACTER

28. I offer the following references from two reputable citizens of the state of which I am a resident.  (If not convenient to have
character references sign application, two letters of recommendation properly notarized and mailed directly to the
Director of the Board will suffice.)

*Complete this section only if letters of recommendation are mailed directly to the Director of the Board.

Name

Address

Name

Address

This certifies that I have been personally acquainted with 
for                      years, that I know                                                                       to be of good moral character, and hereby recommend

 to the Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners as entirely worthy of a Provisional Teaching
License to practice in the State of Mississippi pursuant to law.

Name
Address

Street

City State Zip
Signature

SWORN BEFORE ME AND SUBSCRIBED IN MY PRESENCE
this the          day of               , 20 .
NOTARY PUBLIC
My Commission Expires
State
County SEAL

This certifies that I have been personally acquainted with 
for                      years, that I know                                                                       to be of good moral character, and hereby recommend

 to the Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners as entirely worthy of a Provisional Teaching
License to practice in the State of Mississippi pursuant to law.

Name
Address

Street

City State Zip
Signature

SWORN BEFORE ME AND SUBSCRIBED IN MY PRESENCE
this the          day of               , 20 .
NOTARY PUBLIC
My Commission Expires
State
County SEAL

ACKNOWLEDGMENT

29. In addition to the foregoing, I add the following:

(a) I have read the Mississippi Dental Practice Act and Board Regulations.  I solemnly declare upon my honor that if
granted a Provisional Teaching License to practice in Mississippi, I will respectfully comply with any law and regula-
tion governing the practices of dentistry/dental hygiene in this State, and will do my best to uphold and maintain the
ethics of the profession.  I further declare that I have never practiced illegally in this State or any other state.

(b) I hereby grant permission to the Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners to secure additional information
concerning me or any statement in this Application from any person or any source the Board may desire.
Additionally, I understand that the Board will post on its Internet web site all information it deems necessary to enable
the public to verify my licensure status.  I further agree to submit to questioning by the Board or any member thereof,
and to substantiate my statements if desired by the Board.

(c) I have attached a money order or certified check in the amount of Twenty-Five and No/100 Dollars ($25.00) made
payable to the Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners.  I understand that this Application fee is non-refundable.

(d) I, ___________________________________________________, the applicant herein, depose and say that all facts,
statements, and answers contained in this Application are true and correct; I am not omitting any information which
might be of value to this Board in determining my qualifications and character, whether it is called for or not; and I
agree that any falsification, omission, or withholding of information or facts concerning my qualifications as an
applicant shall be sufficient to bar me from licensure in Mississippi, and such falsifications, omissions, or withholding
shall serve as sufficient grounds for the suspension, cancellation, or revocation of my Mississippi Provisional
Teaching License even though it is not discovered until after issuance.

Name
Address

Street

City State Zip
Signature

SWORN BEFORE ME AND SUBSCRIBED IN MY
PRESENCE this the          day of               , 20 .
NOTARY PUBLIC
My Commission Expires
State
County SEAL
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