MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

Suite 100 ● 600 East Amite Street ● Jackson, MS ● 39201-2801 ● 601-944-9622 ● www.dentalboard.ms.gov

MEMORANDUM

TO: DENTAL HYGIENISTS REQUESTING LICENSURE THROUGH CREDENTIALING

FROM: CHRIS L. HUTCHINSON, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

SUBJECT: APPLICATION PACKET AND CHECKLISH ddated AUfW 19, 2019

Attached to this memorandum are (1) an Application for Licensure by Credentials to Practice Dental Hygiene; and (2) the laws and regulations pertaining to the practices of dentistry and dental hygiene in the State of Mississippi. The purpose of this memorandum is to reiterate information contained in the Application and to provide you with a checklist to ensure a completed Application prior to submission to the Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners. Additionally, this Application packet is valid for ninety (90) days from the date of mailing. If the Board does not receive a signed, completed Application and the appropriate fee during this time, you must request a new Application packet and complete it accordingly.

- 1. Your fee for licensure through credentialing is \$750.00, and this fee is <u>non-refundable</u>. Payment must be in the form of a certified check or money order. Applicant will immediately owe a renewal fee upon issuance.
- 2. All Applications must be typed and mailed by certified mail, return receipt requested, to the above address. Incomplete Applications will be returned to the applicant.
- 3. It is at the sole discretion of this Board to grant licensure, and the filing of this Application, along with the payment of the \$750.00, in no way guarantees approval of licensure.
- 4. A dental hygienist licensed by this Board must practice a minimum of three (3) months per year in Mississippi to remain on active status, and the three (3) months do not need to be consecutive. Board Regulation 49 defines three (3) months as being one (1) day per month for any three (3) months of the preceding license renewal period.
- 5. All questions must be answered fully, truthfully, and accurately; if, however, a question does not pertain to you, so indicate by typing "N/A" in the space provided. If additional space is needed to respond to certain questions, please put your response on plain white paper and number your response to correspond with the question on the Application. The Board encourages you to provide as much detail as possible. All requested supporting data must be received by the Director of this Board.
- 6. You must provide a written statement indicating that you will appear, at your own expense, before this Board for a personal interview, and this Board must have a completed Application and all supporting information prior to scheduling an interview.
- 7. You must provide sworn statements/affidavits from all employers noting dates and types of employment during the past five (5) years. If you have been self-employed during this time, prepare a sworn statement/affidavit noting dates and types of businesses owned/operated.
- 8. You are required to have all colleges/universities and dental hygiene schools attended mail certified copies of the appropriate transcripts directly to this Board.
- 9. You are required to have the Joint Commission on National Dental Examinations mail a certified copy of your National Board grade card directly to this Board.
- 10. You must make a self-query from the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) and Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank (HIPDB), and the <u>original</u> of this form must be forwarded to this Board's office.
- 11. You are required to have the state dental/dental hygiene licensing board for all states in which you currently are, or have ever been, licensed to mail certifications regarding your status, disciplinary actions, any reasons for licensure revocation or suspension, etc., directly to this Board.
- 12. Proof of professional liability insurance coverage and that such coverage has not been refused, declined, canceled, non-renewed, or modified may be mailed with your Application or submitted to this Board by the insurance carrier.

- 13. Proof of participation in continuing education programs and certification in Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation should be mailed with the Application.
- 14. The names, addresses, and telephone numbers of three (3) patients treated within the previous six (6) months should be mailed with the Application.
- 15. You will be required to successfully complete a jurisprudence examination based on the <u>Mississippi</u> <u>Dental Practice Act</u> and the Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners rules and regulations.

APPLICATION CHECKLIST

\sqcup	Application form completed; picture included
	Certified check or money order for \$750.00 included with Application
	Written statement agreeing to Board interview provided
	Sworn statements/affidavits from all employers during the past five (5) years
	Certification(s) from board of dental/dental hygiene examiners in state(s) where applicant has ever been
	licensed, or is currently licensed, to practice dental hygiene requested
	Transcript(s) from college(s) and/or university(ies) requested
	Transcript(s) from dental hygiene school(s) requested
	Testimonials of Moral Character provided
	Certification of Intent completed
	Proof of continuing education provided
	Proof of Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation provided
	Proof of liability insurance coverage provided/requested
	National Board examination grade requested
	NPDB and HIPDB information requested
	Names, addresses, and telephone numbers of three (3) patients treated within the previous six (6)
	months provided
	Mississippi jurisprudence examination material reviewed
	Copy of Driver's License and SS Card

MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

Suite 100 ● 600 East Amite Street ● Jackson, MS ● 39201-2801 ● 601-944-9622 ● www.dentalboard.ms.gov

APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE BY CREDENTIALS TO PRACTICE DENTAL HYGIENE

An unmounted bust photo not less than 2½" x 2½" of applicant taken not more than six months prior to date of application. Photo must be securely attached to this space.

APPLICATION MUST BE TYPEWRITTEN

This Application must be typewritten and mailed within ninety (90) days by certified mail, return receipt requested, to the above address, and all fees must be paid by money order or certified check and are NON-REFUNDABLE. Applications must be complete before an interview is scheduled before the Board, and incomplete Applications will be returned to the applicant. Each question must be answered fully, truthfully, and accurately. If a request for information is not applicable to you, so state by marking "N/A." If an explanation is required and there is not sufficient space provided, please put your response on plain white paper and number your response to correspond with the question on this Application. All requested supporting data must be received by the Director of this Board.

I hereby make application for issuance of a license by credentials to practice dental hygiene in the State of Mississippi, all in accordance with and subject to the rules and regulations of the Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners and the laws governing the practices of dentistry and dental hygiene in the State of Mississippi. I further understand that I must practice a minimum of three (3) months per year in the State of Mississippi to remain active and that the three (3) months do not need to be consecutive (see memorandum).

First Name		Middle Nan	Middle Name		Maiden Name	
Socia	l Security Number	Race		Sex	Height	Weight
City and State of Birth Country of Birth			Date of	Birth	Age	
Curre	nt Residence Address	s (STREET ONLY)	City	State	Zip Code
Curre	nt Office Address (ST	REET ONLY)		City	State	Zip Code
Curre	nt Mailing Address (S	TREET OR POST	OFFICE)	City	State	Zip Code
Resid	ence: Telephone Nui	mber Fax Numbe	er (Office: Telepho	one Number	Fax Number
Denta	ll Hygiene School Gra	duated From			Date	Degree
		(THIS SECTI	ON FOR MSBE	E USE ONLY)		
	Application Form Receive Proof of CPR Statement Agreeing to Into National Board Grade Sco Sworn Statements from E Names/Addresses/Teleph College Transcript(s) Dental Hygiene School Tr Testimonials of Moral Cha	erview	ears ents	Insurance EADB Reports EDate	Proof of Con Investigator (tinuing Education Checked Application
	State Board Certifications Passed Jurisprudence Approved by Board	of Licensure				

Rev. March 19, 2019

PERSONAL AND PROFESSIONAL

Are you a citize	en of the United	States of Amer	rica? ☐ Yes ☐ N	ИO		
Are you (check	one) 🗆 Sin	gle	☐ Married	☐ Div	orced	
If married,	Male:	Maiden name	e of spouse and a	ddress before ma	arriage	
	Female:	Name of spo	use and address l	before marriage		
Are you in goo	d health? ☐ Ye	s □ No If no	, explain any illn	ess or infirmity	on attached sheet	of paper.
				-		t, service in the Armed
			· · · · ·	_		de sworn statements/
affidavits noti	ng dates and ty	pes of employ	ment from all em	ployers during f	the past five (5) ye	ars. If you have been
self-employed	l during this tin	ne, prepare a s	worn statement/	affidavit noting	dates and types o	of businesses owned/
operated						
=			State of Mississip	pi? ∐ Yes ∐ No) If yes, explain fu	lly with the dates and
	attached sheet					
•					tal hygiene? Yes	
•		J	,			board? ☐ Yes ☐ No
If yes, state w	hich examination	ons, parts, and	dates			
Have you ever	hoon refused lie		nations given by th	nis Poard, anotho	r state board, or a r	regional board? ☐ Yes
-						_
□ No If yes,	state which exa	minations, par	rts, and dates			
List all states i	which you are	currently and h	ave ever been lice	ensed to practice	dental hygiene.	
				p		
-				_	•	sed must provide this
		-	_	=	_	previously have been
expiration or		those Boards	s must provide i	inis Board with	a certified stater	ment of your license
-		al Board of Dent	tal Evaminers? □	lVes □No Ifv	es nlease provide v	our DENTPIN number.
Are you certifie	•			•		Joint Commission on
National Dent				-	•	nay contact the Joint
	at telephone nu	-	_		, ,	,
	-			☐ No If yes, pl	ease give dates	
						_
Have you ever	been disciplined	, reprimanded, p	olaced on probatio	n, and/or had you	ır license suspende	d, cancelled, restricted,
or revoked by	this Board, anot	her board, a ho	ospital, or any prof	fessional society′	? ☐ Yes ☐ No Is	s any such disciplinary
action against	you currently per	nding before an	y state board, hos	pital, or professio	nal society? 🗆 Yes	s ☐ No Have you ever
resigned from	the staff of a hos	spital while an ii	nvestigation or dis	sciplinary hearing	was being conduc	ted? ☐ Yes ☐ No If
yes to any ite	m, explain fully	with the name	es, boards, reasc	ons, dates, etc.,	on attached sheet	of paper.
Have you ever	been a party to	any malpracti	ce claims, deman	ıd, or suits? ☐ \	res □ No Are aı	ny such suits currently
pending? ☐ Y	es 🗆 No Have	e you ever beer	n denied malpracti	ice insurance?]Yes □ No If ye s	s to any item, explain
		•	•		•	uch coverage has not
been refused,	declined, cance	eled, non-rene	wed, or modified	may be mailed w	vith this Applicatio	on or submitted to this
Board's office	by the insuran	nce carrier.		-		
Have you eve	been addicted	to alcohol, nar	rcotics, or any ot	her drug having	addiction-forming of	or addiction-sustaining
liabilities and/o	r received treatm	nent for such ad	dictions? ☐ Yes	☐ No Have you	ever been treated fo	or any mental disorder?
☐ Yes ☐ No	If yes to any ite	em, explain ful	lly on attached s	heet of paper, g	iving dates, name	s of institutions, etc.,
where treatme	ent was receive	⊧d.				
Have you ever	been convicted	of violating fede	eral or state laws o	concerning the po	ssession, distribution	on, or use of controlled
substances, or	are any such ch	arges currently	pending against y	ou? ☐ Yes ☐ N	o If yes, explain fu	ully on attached sheet

Rev. March 19, 2019

of paper.

- Have you ever been arrested, convicted of a felony, or convicted of any crime, felony, or misdemeanor related to your dental hygiene practice, or are any such charges currently pending against you? Yes No If yes, explain fully on attached sheet of paper.
 Proof of participation in continuing education programs for the previous three (3) years must be provided to the Director of this Board. Proof of participation in continuing education programs should be mailed with this Application.
 Proof of current certification in Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation must be provided to the Director of this Board. The practitioner may forward to this Board a copy of the current certification card, which should be included when mailing this Application.
 The names, addresses, and telephone numbers of three (3) patients treated within the previous six (6) months should be mailed with this Application.
- 21. Practitioners must make a self-query from the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) and Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank (HIPDB). This can be done by contacting the NPDB-HIPDB at Post Office Box 10832, Chantilly, Virginia, 20153-0832. The NPDB-HIPDB's telephone number is 1-800-767-6732, and the facsimile number is 703-802-4109. The NPDB-HIPDB provides the practitioner with a form even though no reports have been filed, and the original of this form must be forwarded to this Board's office.
- 22. A written statement agreeing to appear before the Board for an interview must be included with this Application.

EDUCATION

NOTE: Practitioner must have forwarded to the Director of this Board a transcript from each college, university, or dental hygiene school attended with subjects, grades, and dates of graduation. Proof of graduation must be presented to this Board prior to license being issued.

23.	Undergraduate School or Schools Attended:	Period of Attendance and Degree Granted:			
	College or University - Address	_			
	College or University - Address	_			
	College or University - Address	_			
24.	Dental Hygiene School or Schools Attended:	Period of Attendance an	nd Degree Granted:		
	Dental Hygiene School - Address	_			
	Dental Hygiene School - Address	_			
	Dental Hygiene School - Address	_			
Pursuant to Miss. Code Ann. § 73-9-24(1)(m)(10), I,					
	as an instructor at a dental hygiene education	nal facility. If so, state the nam	ne and address of the faci	lity	
Signa	ture	_ SWORN TO AND SUE	SSCRIBED BEFORE ME	on this the	
Гурес	l Name	day of	, 20	·	
Гурес	l Address	Notary Public		SEAL	
Гуреd City, State, Zip		State	County		
		My Commission Expires	S:		

Rev. March 19, 2019

TESTIMONIALS OF MORAL CHARACTER

I offer the following references from two reputable citizens of the state of which I am a resident. (If not convenient to have

26.

character references sign application, two letters of recommendation properly notarized and mailed directly to the **Director of the Board will suffice.**) *Complete this section only if letters of recommendation are mailed directly to the Director of the Board. Name Address This certifies that I have been personally acquainted with for _____ years, that I know _ to be of good moral character, and hereby recommend to the Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners as entirely worthy of a license to practice dental hygiene in the State of Mississippi pursuant to law. SWORN BEFORE ME AND SUBSCRIBED IN MY PRESENCE Name this the _____ day of _____, 20____ Address Street NOTARY PUBLIC My Commission Expires State State_ Signature___ County_ **SEAL** This certifies that I have been personally acquainted with _____ to be of good moral character, and hereby recommend for _____ years, that I know _ to the Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners as entirely worthy of a license to practice dental hygiene in the State of Mississippi pursuant to law. SWORN BEFORE ME AND SUBSCRIBED IN MY PRESENCE Address this the _____, 20__ Street NOTARY PUBLIC__ My Commission Expires____ City State Zip State Signature__ County **SEAL ACKNOWLEDGMENT** 27. In addition to the foregoing, I add the following: I have read the Mississippi Dental Practice Act and Board Regulations. I solemnly declare upon my honor that if granted a license to practice dental hygiene in Mississippi, I will respectfully comply with any law and regulation governing the practice of dental hygiene in this State, and will do my best to uphold and maintain the ethics of the profession. I further declare that I have never practiced illegal dental hygiene in this State or any other state. (a) I hereby grant permission to the Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners to secure additional information concerning me or any statement in this Application from any person or any source the Board may desire. Additionally, I understand that the Board will post on its Internet web site all information it deems necessary to enable the public to verify my licensure status. I further agree to submit to questioning by the Board or any member thereof, and to substantiate my statements if desired by the Board. (b) I have attached a money order or certified check in the amount of Seven Hundred Fifty and No/100 Dollars (\$750.00) made payable to the Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners. I understand that this Application fee is non-(c) (d) SWORN BEFORE ME AND SUBSCRIBED IN MY Name_ Address PRESENCE this the _____ day of ______, 20_____. Street NOTARY PUBLIC_ My Commission Expires_____ City State Zip State **SEAL** Signature County

Rev. March 19, 2019