§ 73-9-65--ACCUSED ENTITLED TO NOTICE, HEARING AND APPEAL;
PRACTICE OF DENTISTRY OR DENTAL HYGIENE PENDING APPEAL

No disciplinary action against a licensee shall be taken until the accused has been
furnished a statement of the charges against him or her and a notice of the time and place
of hearing thereof. The accused may be present at the hearing in person, by counsel, or
both. The board may, for good cause shown, reinstate any license revoked or suspended.
The procedure for the reinstatement of a license that is suspended for being out of compli-
ance with an order for support, as defined in Section 93-11-153, shall be governed by
Section 93-11-157 or 93-11-163, as the case may be. The right to appeal any disciplinary
actions of the board regarding the license of any dentist or dental hygienist is granted.
The appeal shall be to the chancery court of the county in which the dentist or dental
hygienist resides, except where the dentist or dental hygienist does not reside in the State
of Mississippi, in which case the appeal shall be to the Chancery Court of the First Judicial
District of Hinds County, Mississippi. The appeal must be taken within thirty (30) days
after notice of the action of the board. The appeal is perfected upon filing a notice of
appeal, together with a bond in the sum of One Hundred Dollars ($100.00), with two (2)
sureties, conditioned that if the action of the board regarding the license is affirmed by the
chancery court the dentist or dental hygienist will pay the costs of the appeal and the
action in the chancery court. Those bonds shall be approved by the president of the
board. In lieu of the bond, the dentist or dental hygienist may deposit One Hundred
Dollars ($100.00) with the clerk of the chancery court. If there is an appeal, the appeal
may, in the discretion of and on motion to the chancery court, act as a supersedeas. The
chancery court shall dispose of the appeal and enter its decision promptly. The hearing
on the appeal may, in the discretion of the chancellor, be tried in vacation. Appeals may
be had to the Supreme Court of the State of Mississippi as provided by law from any final
action of the chancery court. No such person shall be allowed to practice dentistry or
dental hygiene or deliver health care services in violation of any action of the chancery
court while any such appeal to the Supreme Court is pending. All procedural appeal
requirements as enumerated above also shall apply to any other license or permit issued
by the board under this chapter or regulations duly adopted by the board.

Actions taken by the board in suspending a license when required by Section
93-11-157 or 93-11-163 are not actions from which an appeal may be taken under this
section. Any appeal of a license suspension that is required by Section 93-11-157 or
93-11-163 shall be taken in accordance with the appeal procedure specified in Section
93-11-157 or 93-11-163, as the case may be, rather than the procedure specified in this
section.



