MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

Suite 100 ● 600 East Amite Street ● Jackson, MS ● 39201-2801 ● 601-944-9622 ● www.dentalboard.ms.gov

MEMORANDUM

TO: DENTISTS OR DENTAL HYGIENISTS REQUESTING A VOLUNTEER/LIMITED

PROVISIONAL LICENSE

FROM: CHRIS L. HUTCHINSON, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

SUBJECT: APPLICATION PACKET AND CHECKLIST Updated November 05, 2020

Attached to this memorandum is (1) an Application for a Volunteer/Limited Provisional License to Practice Dentistry or Dental Hygiene; and (2) the laws and regulations pertaining to the practices of dentistry and dental hygiene in the State of Mississippi. The purpose of this memorandum is to reiterate information contained in the Application and to provide you with a checklist to ensure a completed Application prior to submission to the Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners. Additionally, this Application packet is valid for ninety (90) days from the date of mailing. If the Board does not receive a signed, completed Application and the appropriate fee during this time, you must request a new Application packet and complete it accordingly.

- 1. Your fee for provisional licensure is \$25.00, and this fee is <u>non-refundable</u>. Payment must be in the form of a certified check or money order. Upon issuance of licensure, you will owe a renewal fee.
- 2. All Applications must be typed and mailed to the above address. Incomplete Applications will be returned to the applicant.
- 3. It is at the sole discretion of this Board to grant licensure, and the filing of this Application, along with the payment of the \$25.00, in no way guarantees approval of licensure.
- 4. Dentists and dental hygienists practicing with a Volunteer or Limited Provisional License in the State of Mississippi are allowed to only provide charitable and gratuitous dental services in charitable clinics (whether stationary, portable, or mobile), and these dentists and dental hygienists shall not practice their respective professions in the private sector.
- 5. All questions must be answered fully, truthfully, and accurately; if, however, a question does not pertain to you, so indicate by typing "N/A" in the space provided. If additional space is needed to respond to certain questions, please put your response on plain white paper and number your response to correspond with the question on the Application. The Board encourages you to provide as much detail as possible. All requested supporting data must be received by the Director of this Board.
- 6. You must provide notarized statements/affidavits from all employers noting dates and types of employment during the past five (5) years. If you have been self-employed during this time, prepare a notarized statement/affidavit noting dates and types of businesses owned/operated.
- 7. You are required to have all dental/dental hygiene schools attended mail certified copies of the appropriate transcripts <u>directly</u> to this Board.
- 8. You must make a self-query from the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) and the <u>original</u> of this form must be forwarded to this Board's office.
- 9. You are required to have the state dental/dental hygiene licensing board for all states in which you currently are, or have ever been, licensed to mail certifications regarding your status, disciplinary actions, any reasons for licensure revocation or suspension, etc., <u>directly</u> to this Board.
- 10. Proof of professional liability insurance coverage and that such coverage has not been refused, declined, canceled, non-renewed, or modified may be mailed with your Application or submitted to this Board by the insurance carrier.
- 11. Proof of certification in Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation should be mailed with the Application.

APPLICATION CHECKLIST

Ш	Application form completed; picture included	
	Certified check or money order for \$25.00 included with Application	
	Notarized statements/affidavits from all employers during the past five (5) years	
	Certification(s) from board of dental/dental hygiene examiners in state(s) where applicant has ever been licensed, or is currently licensed, to practice dentistry/dental hygiene requested	
	Transcript(s) from dental/dental hygiene school(s) requested	
	Testimonials of Moral Character provided	
	Certification of Intent completed	
	Proof of Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation provided	
	Proof of liability insurance coverage provided/requested	
	NPDB information requested	
	Copy of Driver's License and SS Card	

MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

Suite 100 ● 600 East Amite Street ● Jackson, MS ● 39201-2801 ● 601-944-9622 ● www.dentalboard.ms.gov

APPLICATION FOR A VOLUNTEER/LIMITED PROVISIONAL LICENSE TO PRACTICE DENTISTRY OR DENTAL HYGIENE (Circle One)

An unmounted bust photo not less than 2½" x 2½" of applicant taken not more than six months prior to date of application. Photo must be securely attached to this space.

APPLICATION MUST BE TYPEWRITTEN

This Application must be typewritten and mailed within ninety (90) days by certified mail, return receipt requested, to the above address, and all fees must be paid by money order or certified check and are NON-REFUNDABLE. Applications must be complete before an interview is scheduled before the Board, and incomplete Applications will be returned to the applicant. Each question must be answered fully, truthfully, and accurately. If a request for information is not applicable to you, so state by marking "N/A." If an explanation is required and there is not sufficient space provided, please put your response on plain white paper and number your response to correspond with the question on this Application. All requested supporting data must be received by the Director of this Board.

I hereby make application for issuance of a Volunteer/Limited Provisional License to practice in the State of Mississippi, all in accordance with and subject to the rules and regulations of the Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners and the laws governing the practices of dentistry and dental hygiene in the State of Mississippi. I understand that I am allowed to only practice in itable clinics, (whether stationary, portable, or mobile).

First N	lame	Middle Name		Maiden I	Name	Last Name
Social	Security Number	Race		Sex	Height	Weigh
City ar	nd State of Birth	Country of Birth		Date of E	Birth	Age
Currer	nt Residence Address (STF	REET ONLY)		City	State	Zip Code
Currer	nt Office Address (STREET	ONLY)		City	State	Zip Code
Currer	nt Mailing Address (STREE	T OR POST OFFI	CE)	City	State	Zip Code
Reside	ence: Telephone Number	Fax Number	Office:	Telephor	ne Number	Fax Number
Denta	I/Dental Hygiene School G	aduated From			Date	Degree
	(THIS SECTION FO	OR MSBDE US	E ONLY)		
	Application Form Received Proof of CPR Sworn Statements from Employed Dental/Dental Hygiene School Tr Testimonials of Moral Character_					
	State Board Certifications of Lice NPDB & AADB Reports Investigator Checked Application	nsure				_

Rev. November 05, 2020 Page 1 of 4

PERSONAL AND PROFESSIONAL

1. 2. 3.	Are you a citizen of the United States of America? ☐ Yes ☐ No Are you (check one) ☐ Single ☐ Married ☐ Divorced If married, Male: Maiden name of spouse and address before marriage				
		Female: Name of spouse and address before marriage			
4. 5.	Are you in good health? Yes No If no, explain any illness or infirmity on attached sheet of paper. Give a brief history of your activities for the past five (5) years, including times as a full-time student, service in the Armed Forces of the United States, practice of dentistry or dental hygiene in all states, and other occupations. Provide notarized statements/affidavits noting dates and types of employment from all employers during the past five (5) years. If you have been self-employed during this time, prepare a notarized statement/affidavit noting dates and types of businesses owned/operated.				
 7. 	fully with the	r practiced dentistry/dental hygiene in the State of Mississippi? Yes No If yes, explain dates and locations on attached sheet of paper. to adhere to the A.D.A./A.D.H.A. standards of conduct for practicing? Yes No			
8.	•	in which you are currently and have ever been licensed to practice dentistry/dental hygiene.			
	currently lice standing. In	ry of the Board of Dental/Dental Hygiene Examiners in each state in which you are ensed must provide this Board with a certified statement of your license status and good states where you previously have been licensed, the Secretaries of those Boards mus Board with a certified statement of your license expiration or revocation.			
9.	Yes No	Itly hold a Federal DEA Number to administer, prescribe, or dispense controlled substances? If yes, provide your current registration number Have you ever surrendered your DEA it revoked or restricted? Yes No If yes, explain fully on attached sheet of paper.			
10.	Have you eve canceled, resinve sional sinvestigation of with the name	r been disciplined, reprimanded, placed on probation, and/or had your license suspended, tricted or revoked by this Board, another board, a hospital, or any professional society? Yes such disciplinary action against you currently pending before any state board, hospital, or ociety? Yes No Have you ever resigned from the medical staff of a hospital while an or disciplinary hearing was being conducted? Yes No If yes to any item, explain fully es, boards, reasons, dates, etc., on attached sheet of paper.			
11.	pending? Ye fully on attache not been refus	been a party to any malpractice claims, demand, or suites? Yes No Are any such suites currently No Have you ever been denied malpractice insurance? Yes No If yes to any item, explained sheet of paper. Proof of professional liability insurance coverage and that such coverage has ed, declined, canceled, non-renewed, or modified may be mailed with this Application or submitted office by the insurance carrier.			
12.	sustaining liab treated for any	been addicted to alcohol, narcotics, or any other drug having addiction-forming or addiction- ilities and/or received treatment for such addictions? Yes No Have you ever been mental disorder? Yes No If yes to any item, explain fully on attached sheet of dates, names of institutions, etc., where treatment was received.			
13.	of controlled s	been convicted of violating federal or state laws concerning the possession, distribution, or use ubstances, or are any such charges currently pending against you? Yes No If yes,			
14.	Have you ever to your dental	on attached sheet of paper. The been arrested, convicted of a felony, or convicted of any crime, felony, or misdemeanor related or dental hygiene practice, or are any such charges currently pending against you? Yes s, explain fully on attached sheet of paper.			
15.	this Board. T	ent certification in Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation must be provided to the Director of the practitioner may forward to this Board a copy of the current certification card, which			
16.	Practitioners done by cont	cluded when mailing this Application. must make a self-query from the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB). This can be acting the NPDB at Post Office Box 10832, Chantilly, Virginia, 20153-0832. The NPDB's mber is 1-800-767-6732, and the facsimile number is 703-802-4109. The NPDB provides			

Rev. November 05, 2020

be forwarded to this Board's office.

the practitioner with a form even though no reports have been filed, and the original of this form must

EDUCATION

NOTE: Practitioner must have forwarded to the Director of this Board a transcript from each dental/dental hygiene school attended with subjects, grades, and dates of graduation. Proof of graduation must be presented to this Board prior to license being issued.

17.	Dental/Dental Hygiene School or Schools Attended:	Period of Attendance and Degree Granted:
	Dental/Dental Hygiene School - Address	
	Dental/Dental Hygiene School - Address	
	Dental/Dental Hygiene School - Address	
	CERTIFICATION	ON OF INTENT
18.	Pursuant to Miss. Code Ann. § 73-9-28 and Board Re	gulation 7, I,,
	hereby certify that within() d License to practice in the State of Mississippi, I will pro charitable clinics (whether stationary, portable, or mob are as follows:	ovide charitable and gratuitous dental services in bile). The names and addresses of the charitable clinics
Signa	uture	SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED BEFORE ME on the
_	d Name	, 20
• •	d Address	SEAL
		Notary Public
Туре	d City, State, Zip	State County
		My Commission Expires:
19.	I offer the following references from two reputable citiconvenient to have character references sign application and mailed directly to the Director of the Board will su	zens of the state of which I am a resident. (If not tion, two letters of recommendation properly notarized
	•	ation are mailed directly to the Director of the Board.
	e ess	Name
Addit		Address
recor	certifies that I have been personally acquainted withÁ ´´´´´Áyears, that I knowÁ´´´´´``ÓnmendÁto the Mississippi State Board of Dental Examinate to practice in the State of Mississippi pursuant to law	·····································
Printe	ed Name	SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED BEFORE ME on the
Addr	ess	day of20 NOTARY PUBLIC
		My Commission Expires
Signa	ature	State County SEAL

Rev. November 05, 2020

This certifies that I have been personally acquainted withÁ ´´´´´´Áyears, that I knowÁ ´´´´´´´Áyears, that I knowÁ ´´´´´´´´Áyears, that I knowÁ ´´´´´´´´´´´Áyears, that I knowÁ ´´´´´´´´´´´´Áyears, that I knowÁ ´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´Áyears, that I knowÁ ´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´Áyears, that I knowÁ ´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´						
Drinto	l Nlama		SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED BEFORE ME on the			
		2	day of 20			
Addres	SS		NOTARY PUBLIC			
			My Commission Expires			
			State County SEAL			
Signati	л с		County SEAL			
		ACKNO	DWLEDGMENT			
20.	In ad	dition to the foregoing, I add the followir	g:			
	(a)	upon my honor that if granted a Volum Mississippi, I will respectfully comply of dentistry/dental hygiene in this Sta	actice Act and Board Regulations. I solemnly declare inteer/Limited Provisional License to practice in with any law and regulation governing the practices te, and will do my best to uphold and maintain the are that I have never practiced illegally in this State			
	(b)	I hereby grant permission to the Miss additional information concerning me or any source the Board may desire. its Internet web site all information it	issippi State Board of Dental Examiners to secure or any statement in this Application from any person Additionally, I understand that the Board will post on deems necessary to enable the public to verify my bmit to questioning by the Board or any member ments if desired by the Board.			
	(c)	I have attached a money order or certified check in the amount of Twenty-Five and No/100 Dollars (\$25.00) made payable to the Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners. I understand that this Application fee is non-refundable.				
	(d)		, the applicant herein,			
		depose and say that all facts, statement true and correct; I am not omitting an determining my qualifications and characteristication, omission, or withhold qualifications as an applicant shall be and such falsifications, omissions, or	ents, and answers contained in this Application are y information which might be of value to this Board in aracter, whether it is called for or not; and I agree that ding of information or facts concerning my sufficient to bar me from licensure in Mississippi, withholding shall serve as sufficient grounds for the on of my Mississippi Volunteer/Limited Provisional			
Printed	Name		SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED BEFORE ME on the			
Address			day of20			
			NOTARY PUBLIC			
			My Commission Expires			
Signature			State County SEAL			

Rev. November 05, 2020